15 June 2006 | 2:36 p.m.

"You know I'd like to keep my cheeks dry today"

Beavis's school had their "Awards Ceremony" for the outgoing eighth-graders this morning. Tomorrow is their field trip to Canobie Lake (a local amusement park), and school is out Tuesday at 12:00, and he is out for the summer and then goes to high school. Even though he's a year behind (due to his hyper-spastic ADHD he went to a program the schools used to have called "Readiness" after kindergarten and before he went to first grade), I'm still not ready for this. I am just not old enough to have a kid at the high school. Dammit.

He's on myspace now. In a world where parents are hatin' on myspace, I go and make my kid his profile on my own. He didn't even ask, I just did it. I chose the picture too, it's precious:

(Don't even ask).

Anyway. So, then I showed him, haha you're on myspace, and he has not been off since. Except to sleep and go to school or the skate park. Now with that laptop, we are both on at the same time. Last night, we IMed while I was upstairs and he was downstairs. It's out of control.

Tell me you totally aren't surprised this is my kid. Here is his "About me":

"I'm tall and have short hair. I'm kinda hungry. Skateboarding the fucken bomb.I like Swimming at midnight in mikes pool like an otter.BTW I just got this myspace so dont be hatin on me for what I dont got yet".

I put on the first two sentences and he's just left them, then added the rest himself. Check out his music taste:

"Black Flag,sublime,The Ramones,beastie boys,Jimi Hendrix,Led Zeppelin,dead kennedys"

Yup my kid. Except the spelling. Sooooooo not me. I spell way better than he does. And that's my fault for never getting him a Speak & Spell.

And him all being embarrassed about his mom being on myspace? His big fear was his friends would give him shit about it. Hardly. They've noticed and ask him about it, but most think it's cool. One kid told him today that he's going to add me. HA HA weasel.

Anyway, yeah, things are going a little better. Taking the debit card away from Hub was the best move I ever made. He has reluctantly accepted the situation. He's not so stupid that he doesn't know why I need to do this.

And I'm feeling so much better not worrying myself half to death about how much he spent everyday. YAY. Also, I took care of two issues that have been bugging the shit out of me lately (for like the last 7 months) and I haven't done anything to rectify the situations. One was a financial issue.

The other was my cousin Laurie, who has always been one of my best friends. Only for the past nine months or so, we've barely spoken, whereas even when we didn't talk much, we'd at least talk to each other every few weeks or so. She's been busy with school and work, and I've been busy being a fucking big pile of shit. I had a dream the other night that I called her to tell her my dad was getting married, and she was talking about the baby and breastfeeding. She doesn't have a baby, her baby is 10. So, I figured that was a signal to call her.

My grandmother used to take her dreams really seriously and sometimes she actually knew certain shit was going down because she'd dream about the person or people it revolved around. She dreamt about my mother the night before she died, for example.

So, I called Laurie Tuesday and left a message about how I was pulling a Memere and calling her cuz I dreamt about her. She called back and we talked and then later she stopped in for a visit. And we've been talking since and I'm so glad for that.

Yeah, and my dad getting married? They set the date, Sept 16. Faster than I expected, but that's okay. I'll have a step mommy and step brothers and sisters. Well, one of each as far as I know but there might be more than one guy. I don't know, I don't even know their names, all I know is they live in Mass. The girl is getting married in Boston, where she lives, in some huge $50,000 wedding. So, obviously, these people are all high class and fancy. Wait til they meet me and my brother and our bunch. Ha ha.

He also already got an offer on his house. It was pending and inspection of his septic system that was on Monday, and since I haven't talked to him I don't know what the result is. Also, these people are nickel and diming everything, and my dad (major, major tightwad) said he wants to sell the place but he's not giving it away, either.

So, his life is moving along quickly. Hub asked if I was happy for him, and all I could say was that while I'm not adverse to any of this at all, I've been a little preoccupied and self-absorbed with my own problems to really be "happy" for anybody else.

OMG! The best news! I've lost four pounds in the last two weeks. Last week when I weighed in, I'd only lost half a pound. I didn't let it bother me because I was at PMS bloaty time. At least I didn't gain. I weighed in last night and had lost 3.6. I was so fucking psyched. I still am. I needed that loss to keep me on track. Four down, fourteen to go.

Also, there is nothing better than going to the grocery store and have Mickey quoting this all the way through: "Da movie Doooooon is in my chocolatey drink".

Okay, the sun is finally coming out to stay, Colin is up from his nap and it's time to go outside.

Ciao.

Listening to: Blind Melon. See title.

Currently reading:

Thinking about: