05 August 2004 | 2:44 p.m.

Save a horse, ride a cowboy

One thing I've found myself doing alot more lately, is sitting in my room having a smoke and watching country music videos. So much so that HUb finally caught on. I don't know what happened to me...

Anyway, they're quite interesting videos to watch. I noticed something the other day I found rather interesting.

I was flipping between GAC and CMT, so I have no idea exactly which channel this occured on. Not that that matters at all. Anyway, first is a video with Trace Adkins called "Rough and Ready" or something like that. He looks just like the name of the song, a rugged rough type, and I dare say he is pretty hot if you like that kind of guy. With a nice long ponytail, too, which is a nice little bonus feature. Anyhow, in the video he's driving this beat up old truck and having himself a good old time. He's even got Dale Jr in the video. I like that video, it's the kind of video and tune that has attracted me to the kind of music I reviled for so many years.

Anyway, RIGHT after that video comes on "Who's Your Daddy?" by Toby Keith. It's all about the benjamins in that there video. He's driving a top of the line, fully loaded 2004 Ford F-950 and it features this totally pimpin' crib. I felt like I was watching TRL. Bling, bling. So disappointing. WHile I'm sure Toby Keith really does live like that, can I just have a nice, white trash, redneck video with my country music, please? Hub and I were watching this morning and another Toby Keith video comes on and I said, "Oh, the bling bling guy" and Hub just looked at me and said, "Huh? Bling bling? He's a country singer...".

So. We're getting along now, even though the issue of earlier this week has not been resolved. It's simply on the back burner, simmering away, until something fucking else happens and it comes back and explodes. You know.

I've got a yard full of neighborhood kids right now. Yey. Sometimes other people's kids can be downright irritating. Like, why the hell would you go to someone's house and just start asking for their stuff? Because you "like" it? And, I don't know what the fuck makes them think, when there's fucking five or six of them, that I'm handing out goddamn snacks to them all. "Mommy, can we have a snack?". What are you, on crack? I've got 6 kids staying at the house right now that need to eat, I don't need to be wasting all the food on the friggin neighborhood. They're like fucking animals, you give them a nibble and they expect it everytime. If they have one, maybe two friends over, perhaps I'll throw a popsicle at them, but not the whole damn neighborhood. I don't get too much in the habit, cuz you know you give an inch and they take a mile. An ounce of prevention is worth a bird in the bush. (Now I sound like my husband, who makes up his own cliches from popular ones. One that comes to mind is, "Did you lose your head out of your ass?" which is a variation on, "Is your head up your ass?").

Yeah, that's it. For now.

Listening to:

Currently reading:

Thinking about: