10 November 2004 | 10:14 a.m.

Lacto-ovo-beastie

45 minutes until OPK start showing up. Let's roll.

Aaargh, I've got those nightmare kids today. I don't know how their parents can live with them 24/7. Honestly. And I'm the parent of some pretty wild kids myself. Oh well, I don't need to worry about them until they show at 12:30, so I'm not going to get myself all worked up yet.

I was Suzie Frickin' Homemaker yesterday. I made homemade chicken soup in the crock-pot and baked some apple cinnnamon bread (the Weight Watchers way, and it disappeared, and no one said, "is this diet bread?") in my new toaster oven. That and a spankin' big lunch (grilled cheese, spagettios and fresh veggies) and a nice supper (tacos and salad, but I made mine a taco salad). Then Aunt Flo, after a week of announcing she was on her way, showed up last night. No wonder the urge to cook, cook, cook. And eat, eat, eat.

Beavis needed a book for free reading in school, so me and the boys went to B&N last night. What a great place. I could've been there all damn night. I got two more books, on top of the two that I bought Monday, so my reading material is stocked for a month or two. (David Baldacci, "Last Man Standing" and Olivia Goldsmith, "Young Wives"). I am so happy to have discovered reading again. I missed it.

We're going to have the whole tribe this weekend, as it's Daisy's scheduled weekend and Hilda is going to grace us with her lovely presence. It's going to be the first weekend that Hilda's coming since she decided she's going to be a vegetarian. Hub is all concerned about this, but I told him not to make a big deal out of it.

I have nothing against vegetarians, except when they try to shove their beliefs down my throat. Sorry, but I enjoy my meat, fish and dairy products. Another one of those, "you do your thing, I'll do mine" kind of situations.

My only concern about Hilda is that she doesn't have the brain to figure out how to eat healthy as a vegetarian. She's getting all her protein from peanut butter, eating peanut butter and fluff all the time. Her fat ass is just going to get fatter. Not my problem, however. I might prepare her some yummy (gag) tofu to show her how she should eat, but I won't make that big of a deal about it.

I will, however, make sure that supper Saturday night is a big fat pot roast. Just to be a bitch.

She's decided to be a vegetarian because she thinks it cruel to animals to eat them. She has a point. I have certain strong feelings regarding animals too.

Now, I'm no animal freak, not by any stretch of the imagination. I'm not about to join PETA. I don't have pets, because they irritate me by living in my house and making a mess. I've got the kids to do that, and at least they don't shit on the floor. Someday, however, I might get a dog. And said dog is going to be either a little ankle biter or a Great Dane. Nothing in between.

I hate seeing animals in cages. I just have this deep seated belief that they should be free. It bothers me to see animals in zoos and also hamsters, reptiles, birds in cages. Drives me nuts. What kind of life is that? Butthead has a turtle downstairs that drives me insane, poor thing stuck in that tank. Beavis had one too, but it died recently. I couldn't help but be a little happy that he wasn't trapped in there anymore. Now Butthead want's to get rid of his turtle and get a bearded dragon but that just ain't happening. He wanted the turtle, he keeps it. If he gets rid of it, he's out an animal and it's not getting replaced. Period.

My dad and I took Beavis to the circus when he was four. I got all bent out of shape about the elephants. Those poor elephants. I wanted to set them all free, like Eliot did with the frogs on "ET". They don't belong in circus, living in a trailer, being treated like shit (can't tell me they don't abuse those animals, I saw those hooks they drag them around by and flipped out). They should be on the plains in Africa and India. My heart went out to them. A few days later, when the same circus was in New York, one of the elephants freaked out and charged the audience. Beavis has never forgotten my reaction to the elephants that day and we haven't been to the circus since.

I would sooner die than wear fur, and I usually can't help but make a snide remark if I see someone wearing it (just a little comment, not jamming my beliefs down anyone's throat). (Reminds me of a joke: A lady is walking around in a floor length mink coat. Someone approaches her and says, "Do you know how many animals had to die to make that coat?". The lady replies, "Do you know how many people I had to fuck to get this coat?")

Wow, parentheses paragraph from hell there.

I love wild animals. We get a lot around here, deer, foxes, raccoons, groundhogs, birds galore (hawks, woodpeckers, hummingbirds, owls, turkey vultures, etc) we even hear coyotes out in the woods. Butthead saw a bear out back once. This doesn't mean I'm against hunting. I don't hunt, I couldn't, but I think it's rather necessary. I hate the thought of overpopulation and animals starving for lack of food.

I'll tell ya though, were it up to me to kill animals for food, I'd be a vegetarian for sure. I couldn't do it. Not even a chicken. I'd be lacto-ovo-vegetarian. Maybe fish, too, maybe.

Anyway.

Almost exactly a month after the concert, I am still on a major Beasties trip. I have 5 of their discs in the van. I'm between "Paul's Boutique" and "Check Your Head" these days and MCA ( Adam Yauch) is my new celeb crush. I was a little disappointed to find out that they're all from wealthy families, though. But I got over it. I dreamt about them last night, we went to see them in concert at some high school gym and they came out to the audience right where I was, and I got to dance with them and talk to them.

Much craziness in my dreams lately. Blasts from the past, making me wonder if I ever really "Got over" certain people. Like my ex from when I was 18. What the hell is up with that? I also had a dream that we caught Esther and Chester (hey! I never noticed before, but they rhyme! ha! Esther and Chester!) together, which was a major bust. She's not supposed to see him at all, per court order, but we're pretty sure she still does. In fact, I know for sure she does (don't ask how, but I know), we just can't prove it.

Anyway, I've got an OPK showing up any minute. The "I want" girl.

And my head is throbbing! Time for some nice ibuprofen.

Adios, muchachas y muchachas!

Listening to:

Currently reading:

Thinking about: