31 December 2004 | 6:50 a.m.

2004 in Review

I plan on ending this year and beginning the next year on a good note. Several entries ago I mentioned that I wanted no part of going out tonight due to my stress about drunken drivers, but it seems that I�ll be going out anyway. I plan to avoid the drunk drivers by staying at the party we�re going to until roughly 6 am, so I can return home before the kids wakie wakie.

Hub and I and his sis Tara (the cool one with the soap opera life) and her husband, and possibly Andrea and her fianc�e, are going to a big ol� bash. Band and all! Some friends of mine from back in the day are having it. I�m actually quite excited now. I don�t know what it is about Tara, but from the time I met her, I�ve really liked her. So this otter be a blast.

Anyway, onto Jackie�s Dukkha�s 2004 in review.

2004 was definitely a great year for this chick. I�d put it up there with 1997, 1994, 1993, 1992, 1989, 1988 AND 1985. Those was some good years. So was this one.

Highlights:

--I hit my weight loss goal of 100 lbs and am the thinnest I�ve been in roughly 14 years.

--The above made it possible for me to have the most kick ass wardrobe I�ve ever had. The summer clothes were incredible: tank tops, halter tops and teeny little t-shirts, shit I haven�t been able to wear in years. (Halter tops? I wore those when I was 5, so we�re talking some years)

--This year I saw two of my very favoritest artists ever live in concert. Elton John in April and Beastie Boys in October. It is a good fucking year when you get to see two longtime favorites.

--I became a stay at home mom again in July. I bitch about it constantly, but it really is where I need to be right now. If you ignore the swearing, I really am pretty good at it.

--The above made it possible for me to re-discover reading, and I�ve read 16 books since July. I am very, very happy about this.

--I also invested a lot in my CD collection, which I�d neglected for a number of years.

--The most startling revelation about this year is that I began listening to and enjoying country music. You have no idea what this means, unless you knew me personally and had first hand knowledge of how much I detested country music since I was about 12 years old. There were a few that I�d make exception to (Loretta Lynn, Patsy Cline, and �Friends in Low Places� was about all), but for the most part, I hated it. Hated it! Now, I own three country CDs (Big & Rich--awesome CD, Gretchen Wilson--likewise, and Tim McGraw--not as excited about that one, but he sure is a babe).

--This year found us more financially stable than any other (with the exception of the past weeks, of course). It also made the idea of owning our own business a feasible possibility.

--My social life really picked up this year too. Hub and I really didn�t go out much before this year, but we�ve done so regularly this year. We�ve had us some good times.

--I actually kind of made peace with Esther after four years of a cold relationship. In doing so, it�s become easier for Hub to communicate with her. This has made one significant source of stress decrease a great deal. And I�m a grown up (supposedly), I can only imagine how much easier it�s made things for Daisy, Hub and Esther�s daughter.

--And this year was great for my nasty little corner of the internet here. I�ve got some groovin� buddies here on D-land, and it�s one of my favorite things to do. I wish you all a Happy New Year, be safe if you�re going out, and thanks for being a part of my rockin� 2004. You rule. =)

I�m hoping 2005 goes just as well or better. I�ve only got three goals:

--Lose another 10-15 lbs

--Quit smoking weed (this is going to be a toughie)

--Begin establishing a successful business.

Oh, and getting health insurance for me and Hub would be nice. The kids have it, but we�re SOL.

Anyway, I haven�t even showered yet. I�ve got a kid scarfin� down Munchkins in the kitchen and three upstairs just waiting to come down and attack. I wanted this done this morning before the troops arrive, and I did it! Yey!

Until next year! Adios, ciao, and sayonara!

Obrigado!

Listening to: Max and Ruby on Noggin

Currently reading: "The Bone Collector" Jeffery Deaver. The one in which all my questions about Lincoln Rhyme are answered!!

Thinking about: Getting through this day so I can go PARTAY!!!!