11 February 2005 | 3:44 p.m.

Stressed out Dukkha

The second entry today, as promised.

I�m pretty much a nervous wreck right now. I�m trying to keep occupied to �stop think� but it�s not working. Mostly it�s the business buyout. I am absolutely freaking out about it. Freaking the fuck out. Between that and going to Boston Monday and Tuesday I�m like all edgy and shit. Rrrrr.

I need to relax like seriously. Then it doesn�t help that the kids are driving me bananas and oh goody! Now that I�m busy updating fucking both boys come home, including Butthead who�s supposed to be at fucking wrestling practice and is now going to fucking hover because I am on the computer typing and he is nosy as fuck. Go. The Fuck. AWAY. Bastard. GO eat a habanero pepper if you�re so fucking hungry.

Oh, and yes, the little fucker is cute. And girls love him. Most of his friends are girls. He has a girlfriend, they�ve been together since last May. She�s a little hottie too. But the kind of girl who doesn�t know exactly how beautiful she is. She has a perfectly flat perfect little belly. The kind I�ve never had, even when I was super thin at 18, I�ve always had a little paunch. (I�m an �apple�). She�s kind of a mess, she reminds me of myself at 16 a little minus all the booze and drugs and sex. Well, that I don�t know for sure. I�m just assuming.

So. To relax myself a little here, let me relate several stories about people I know that I write about on occasion here, who have it way worse than me at the moment. Two of these sets of people cause their own problems, I think, but they still have it worse than me.

This first guy doesn�t cause his own problems. My friend Gina�s husband Joe is a truck driver for Brown. He drives the big 18 wheeler trucks for the big shipments, not the �little� brown trucks. Anyway, Wednesday night when he was at work he had an accident. I guess he was standing behind his truck in front of a loading dock. Someone, for whatever reason, got into the truck and backed it up, pinning him in between the truck and the dock. He was in Manch-Vegas at the Elliot Hospital first, but they med-flighted him up to Dartmouth right away. His pelvis was crushed and he had a lot of internal bleeding, he almost didn�t make it through the first night. I guess he�s had a couple surgeries in the time since the accident. He�s a really great guy, too. He�s almost my dad�s age and he reminds me of my dad a lot. My heart goes out to them.

The only silver lining to this, praying he makes it, is holy Worker�s Comp settlement, Batman. And knowing Joe, he will get every penny due to him and probably a little extra, too. He�s, uh, an �assertive� kind of guy.

Then yesterday I got a call from Nina, my nephew Jayden�s mom. Yeah, the same night Joe got in the accident, Nina and her old man got arrested. I guess some sketchy chick, who I�ve heard about from other people and she is truly sketchy, was at their house drinking and all kinds of hell broke loose, resulting in Nina punching this chick in the face. Well, Sketchy Chick left their apartment and called the cops. The cops showed up and arrested Nina and her boyfriend. Good thing Nina�s mom lives with them to watch the kids. Sketchy Chick also told the cops that they were big time crack users, so at the police station the detectives were giving them the third degree about who they got their shit from. I really believe her when she says they aren�t doing it. I still think she�s the better parent than Ned, even with that kind of shit going on. What she needs to do is lay off the sauce and stop letting sketchballs into the house. I�m just saying is all.

Finally, in the �people who make their own problems� department, we have Rayanne and Hot Daddy (I gotta think of another name for him, I�m sick of that one. He�s not so hot anymore. Easy on the eyes but that�s all. How about Smitty? Yeah, he�s gonna be Smitty now). Anyway, when they left here last night, it was snowing pretty good. The roads sucked. No sooner had they left than they ran off the road into a fence. I guess the guy who�s house it was was being a dick, so they called me for a shovel. I wasn�t up for going out, but what am I gonna say, �No, I don�t fell like it?�. I was on my third beer since 5:00 and it was almost 8:00 then, so I was okay to drive. When I got there, the cops were there. I parked behind him and I guess they don�t like it when you block the blue lights, so he was right on me. I�m thinking, give the shovel and leave before he smells alcohol on my breath and asks me to do the H-town shuffle. I�d pass, but I didn�t want to deal with it. Anyway, as I left I noticed that their car missed a telephone pole by about two inches, max. Holy close call. Anyway. The car has no inspection sticker, so the cop gave them crap about it. And no insurance, and they hit the guy�s fence. I guess his first words were �I hope you have insurance�. Then the shovel didn�t work, so it cost them $65 to have a tow truck tow it out. What a ripoff. When Hub had to have his truck towed out of a ditch a few weeks ago (I know, he�s a fucking piece of work, isn�t he?) it was only $35. And they are having major money issues right now.

Here�s the thing. Here�s how people make their own problems. They have been struggling with money for a while, but they both work full time. He�s a cable guy, I guess gets paid as a contractor or something. Not like a regular hourly or salary job. Whatever. Their priorities are in the wrong place. They have money problems, but still manage to drink and smoke and do whatever else too. Hi, money problems? That should be the first shit to go. Also, um, yeah, someone needs to get a second job. You gotta do what you gotta do. Really he should, being that as a man he can get something that pays more, but if I were her and my husband wouldn�t get a second job, I�d fucking go do it and leave him with the kid.

Wow, going off about other people�s problems really helps you forget your own. Which I just remembered. Ugh. Can I really run a business? I�m not so sure. It�s so fucking much responsibility. And my partner, well, we know about him. He can only stick to digging holes and mowing lawns and making yards purty. The rest of the shit is up to me. Where�s the stressed out smiley? Insert it here.

Well, I gotta go. Someone�s distracting me.

Have a good weekend, all!

Listening to: Jet! "are you gonna be my girl" Yeah! I have this CD!

Currently reading: My buddy list again.

Thinking about: VALIUM!