27 February 2005 | 8:46 a.m.

Music Videos: A Half Assed Entry

Yey. I just had a whole entry written here, and deleted the whole thing. On purpose. Same shit, different day. All me bitching about school vacation and how Hub needs a clue. Fuck that shit. I�ve got all week to bitch about school vacation, although nosy-assed fucking Hilda is going to be here, so who knows how updating is going to go.

If I keep going with that, I�m just going to re-create the entry I just deleted, so I�ll stop now. I�ll just write about bullshit.

Like, the way that I watch music videos much in the same way I did when MTV first came out. I don�t know what it is, but they mesmerize me. Right now my favorite is �Mr. Brightside� by The Killers. I could watch that over and over. I also like �Get Right� by J-Lo (calling her that only because she doesn�t want to be called that). Not that I like the song particularly much, but damn does she have one killer belly. Perfect. It fascinates me. (This has to do with the fact that I never had, and never will, no matter how much plastic surgery I can have, a beautifully flat belly. It is my favorite feature on women that have it. It�s all envy and longing for what I can�t have. I don�t trip out on boobs or asses, because I�m happy with myself in those departments, it�s just the belly thing).

I love to look at beautiful women but not in a sexual way. I can just appreciate beauty for the sake of beauty. Never mind the fact that J-Lo is a big mess, and I wouldn�t want her personal life for all the money in the world (although knowing what Ben Affleck is like in bed wouldn�t be bad, spare me Marc Anthony, however).

I can remember when that En Vogue video, �Never Gonna Get It� came out. Beavis was a baby and I�d just gotten cable tv. I would watch that over and over. As a matter of fact, I have a pic of him standing in front of the tv and you can just barely see that video playing. I thought those chicks were the shit. And then when they did the video with Salt n� Pepa, and Salt n� Pepa were all looking way hotter than before.

As long as the song doesn�t irritate the living shit out of me, I can watch the video over and over. Bonus points for hot guys, but not always necessary.

When MTV first came out, we had it. My older bro turned me on to it. I can still remember the first video I saw on it, I had walked into the living room where my bro was watching it, and this was like three or four days after MTV first aired, and the Split Ends (sp?) �I Got You� was on. I asked what he was watching and he told me MTV and gave me a brief rundown of the channel.

My older bro was my music guru when I was a kid. I can remember being like 6 and he was showing me his albums (oh yeah, all vinyl), saying, �This is Aerosmith, �Toys In the Attic�. This is Led Zeppelin III�, etc. I took whatever he said about music as the word of God. Really. So when he endorsed this MTV thing, I knew it was cool.

And back then, this was right before I started 6th grade, I had cable in my room (my dad took it out when I was in the 7th grade because it was affecting my grades and probably my social life too). I spent 6th grade zoning out in front of MTV. Hee hee, I can remember U2 had a video on there, �Gloria� maybe, or �I Will Follow�, and I remember I HATED them, I thought �This fucking stupid band will never last�. How wrong my silly little 11 year old self was! I changed my mind about them when the video for �New Year�s Day� came out, and by the time I heard �Sunday Bloody Sunday�, I was hooked.

Speaking of U2, the video for �Where the Streets Have No Name� used to mesmerize me, too. Bono looked so damn good in it, with his long hair and vest and shit. Even today. But my favorite boy to stare at in that video was the drummer. You know, what�s his name. He was hot in that one.

Yup, back in the days when MTV showed videos 24-7. Now we have all kinds of extra MTV and VH-1 stations that show videos all day, and now I watch MTV�s stupid reality shows half the time. Like �Date My Mom� and �Room Raiders�, which you can�t tell those things are scripted much. Especially �Date My Mom�. Please. MTV should stick to �The Real World�. Even that �Gauntlet� or �Inferno� shit is for the birds.

I know, you�re wondering, �Dukkha, with all those kids and dland, when do you ever have time to watch MTV?�. Good question. I watch this shit while I�m in my room smoking pot. That�s like a 20 minute, half hour project in itself, so I catch up on my fluff tv then. MTV and weed are a perfect mix.

Wow. I can�t believe I found enough bullshit to write a whole entry about. Way cool. And my bitching about Hub and kids was minimal, if that. Never fear, there�s always tomorrow.

Hub�s up, and I�m out.

Ciao!

Listening to: Cheesy disco station! "Tell It to My Heart", Taylor Dayne. This wasn't on the list yesterday, but the Beatles were?

Currently reading: "Absolute Power" David Baldacci.

Thinking about: Taking a shower.