29 September 2004 | 9:44 a.m.

You think it's chocolate milk but it's watered down yoohoo.

When Beavis was about 5 years old, and I was the single mother of only one child (good times, good times), I listened to The Beastie Boys "Check Your Head" relentlessly. Beavis loved that disc. Over the years, we've bought every CD they've put out between the two of us. "Paul's Boutique" is mine, "License to Ill" is his, we each own a copy of "Check Your Head" (my personal favorite of their's), and "Ill Communication" and "To The Five Boroughs" are mine. But we're cool, we share. (UPDATE: Ahhh, this post has been up for three days and fortunately no one has pointed out that I forgot one of the Beasties CDs. I actually did buy "Hello Nasty" when it came out, but it was sold in the Great CD Sell-Off of 1999. I was still with Dick and times were tough--on account of him being a crackhead and all--and I sold a bunch of CDs for grocery money. I wasn't entirely impressed with "NAsty" at the time, so it got sold. I still haven't replaced it). =(

Anyhoo, I told him back then, "Hey, buddy, once you're about 12 or 13, if the Boys come around on tour, I'll take you to see them". And I meant it. And, I've done made good on a promise. I bought us two tickets to see them on Oct 12, in a mere two weeks! Just me and Beavis, even though we offered to take Butthead, but he's far too cool to go see the Beasties (and he's fucked if he thinks I'm taking him to see frickin' Slipknot, Otep, Drowning Pool, System of a Down, or any of that other crap he listens to). So, just me and the boy are going.

And it occured to me this morning, Beavis is going to see a side of his mama he's never seen before. Just cuz I'll be with him doesn't mean I won't have a few way overpriced beers in plastic bottles and I won't not scream my ass off the whole time we're there. And not flirt with the cutie pies that'll be there? I think not. I'm going to wear my youngest clothes and for the night, I'm going to be 21 years old. And I guess he'll be my "nephew", cuz i don't know many 21 year olds who have 13 year old kids. So. Think he'll be surprised?

Anyway, that's the big news lately. I've got a four year old who needs me.

Ciao.

Listening to:

Currently reading:

Thinking about: