05 October 2005 | 10:33 a.m.

"Are those fricken' sharks with fricken' laser beams attached to their fricken' heads?"

Thanks to all for the compliments about my house. However, I feel the need to clarify. It is indeed a mess.

My number one rule to cleaning the house: the parts of the house where other people frequent must be neat and clean. Somewhat. The rest of the house, as long as it isn�t like, unsanitary, gets ignored most of the time. Until Hub or I can�t stand it anymore.

The most glaring example of why I think my house is a mess. Beavis�s room. We�ve seen it before, and here it is again:

Just so we�re clear about this, here�s another shot:

He is utterly disgusting and I have given up on trying to get him to clean up. Evidently, this sloppiness could be attributed to his ADHD. Or, just the fact that he is a disgusting slob.

This past weekend, however, Hub had a cleaning frenzy and currently Beavis�s room is somewhat clean. This should last until Friday or so, and his room will be right back to looking like the pictures.

Isn�t this lovely? This is Butthead�s wall. He is trying to hide his latent homosexuality, if you ask me:

More of Butthead�s room. With a stinky turtle tank. He got rid of his red eared slider (pyscho) turtle and then caught a painted turtle outside and kept it. This pisses me off. I�m quite opposed to taking animals from their natural habitat and caging them up. One of these days, I�m going to let him go, I swear!

This is my room. Yeah, I rarely make the bed. Oh well. The mess on Hub�s bureau has since been cleaned, too. He was in full clean-up mode on Sunday. It�s like a twice a year deal for him.

My son Mickey shows here that he will be following in the footsteps of my older son:

And finally, Minnie�s room. She�s a pig too.

I know, at this point, I need to take responsibility for my kids being total slobs. I was as a child, too. As a matter of fact, my dad used to say all kinds of stuff about how nasty my room was when I was like 12. The line that stuck in my head was: �Jackie�s trying to grow mushrooms in her room�. My dad is a piece of work.

Yeah, so when I was twelve and my room was so bad that you had to wade through papers and trash to get anywhere in the room (having given up on �leaving a trail open� to walk through), my dad made me an offer I couldn�t refuse. He told me if I cleaned the room so it was spic and span, he�d buy me FIVE tapes. (1983 was before the advent of CDs, remember). I cleaned that room up like you wouldn�t believe. Even the closet. And it never got that disgusting ever again.

The tapes I got? Iron Maiden, two of them, I don�t recall the names, but one had �Run to the Hills� on it, and the other had �Flight of Icarus� on it. Um. Quiet Riot. Their first one. Then one by a band named Vanderberg, whoever they were. The guitar player was this hot guy Adrian Vanderberg, I remember that much. I don�t remember what the fifth tape was. Maybe Def Leppard�s �On Through The Night�, since at that point I already had �High & Dry� and �Pyromania�. �On Through� was NOTHING compared to the later two.

(Uh-oh, Jackie�s going into a Def Leppard spiel).

Personally, as far as I�m concerned, Def Lep only did three great albums: �High & Dry�, �Pyromania� and �Hysteria� and that�s all. I realize that I am in no position to judge any of their newer material, as I haven�t heard it at all, but my Def Lep is the Def Lep of the 80�s. When they were all alive. I�d say when they all had all their body parts too but �Hysteria� was made after Rick Allen lost his arm.

Speaking of Rick Allen, who knew he�d turn out to be the hottest member of the band when they grew up? Joe Elliott still looks pretty good, but not as good as Rick. When I was 12, 13, I always loved Rick Savage, however, he did not age well. Phil Collen was okay looking. Steve Clark was hot too, but not anymore. Being dead and all.

Def Leppard was my obsession in 1983. I loved them. I would wear painter�s hats (hot in 1983) and t-shirts and millions of pins with their logo on it. I had an entire wall of my room covered with nothing but posters and pictures and articles about Def Lep. I dreamt about moving to England and shacking up with Rick Savage and having babies. I was obsessed.

Then, in early 1984, I decided that Motley Crue could kick their ass and that Vince Neil was definitely more accessible being that he lived on the same continent as me. And Def Lep was done for me until 1987 and the release of �Hysteria�.

And what the fuck did that have to do with my messy house? As usual, I digress.

Anyway, I am out, yo.

Buena vista!

Listening to: Who fucking knows! Some band! And The Backyardigans. Muy bien! Delicioso!

Currently reading: "Guilty As Sin" Tami Hoag. I'll confess. I'm still on page 19. I haven't been reading much.

Thinking about: Did I mention I've been doing laundry for three days straight? And there's still more?