03 November 2003 | 10:30 p.m.

Friggin Halloween Candy

Fucking Halloween candy. It's killing me. Lots of chocolate this year. Bad for losing weight. I know I'm up this week. That's stinky.

Hubby is up watching tv and I'm a bit paranoid writing with him here. He hears me typing away and gets curious, forgets that I ask for some privacy when I'm on the computer. I don't think he'd be too thrilled with the online diary idea. Not that that would stop me, but some things I just like to keep to myself. Anyway,if I'm not as candid as I was in entry #1 (which was so great to write, by the way), that's why.

That and the fact that I'm fed the fuck up with adolescents. We have 2 living here presently. One mine, one his. (An aside, I define "my kids" and my "stepkids", not to be discriminatory, just accurate. Hubby calls them all "his" kids. My kids and his kids are treated equally, whether they're birth kids or step kids). They get along fine, which is a blessing, I must admit. And they're not abnormal, they are totally normal, typical adolescents (one isn't going to actually be a teenager for about six months). That's why I'm so fed up. They both know everything, I don't see why they can't just get some high-paying jobs and move the fuck out.

I had to take Hubby to the hospital in "the Big City" (well known for the baseball team that's disappointed it's fans for decades) today for follow up on his blown up face. Once upon a time, 9 or 10 years ago, going to the Big City meant I was going to have fun. Either flying out for vacation, going to a big concert or hitting a club with the girls. I had many good times in that Big City, sampled a few Big City men. Hmmmmmm....Good times.

I feel so old and "washed up" when I get to thinking like that, ya know? Jeez, the 90's have been over for almost 4 years, get over it.

Anyway, once upon a time, going to the Big City was fun. Now, it means going to the hospital. One of my kids needed medical attention there at birth (my youngest), so this isn't my first Big City hospital experience. It could be the last and I'd be all set with that.

I'm tickled pink to have two fans so far. That's the best.

A little background on my username, even though no one's asked. I am very interested in Buddhism and have been slowly learning about it through reading for almost two years now. I'm by no means a practicing Buddhist nor do I claim to be, but that doesn't mean I don't want to be one, either. Anyway, the core of the Buddhist Dharma are the Four Noble Truths. The First Noble Truth is the truth of "dukkha", which is usually translated as "suffering", although more literal meanings would be "dissatisfactory", "frustrating" or "hard to bear". (Fortunately, the Dharma teaches that there is a way to be free of suffering, it's not all gloom and doom). The Second Noble Truth tells that the cause for life's dukkha is craving. "Tanha" is a Pali word for a never ending thirst, a craving that won't quit. I wanted to use either word, but of course they were aleady taken (by DEAD diaries, I must add). However, I like the two together, I find that it's fitting. I'm trying to find a design for this diary that's even remotely Buddhist themed, but it might be impossible.

Anyway, 8 fucking fun size candy bars later. Good grief. Frickin' Halloween. I'm probably going to grab at least two more, too.

Moo!

Listening to:

Currently reading:

Thinking about: