05 November 2003 | 11:42 a.m.

Lunch Break

I'm home on lunch at the moment, in perfect solitude. Hubby had to go back to the Big City for his eye and fortunately a friend was able to bring him. You know, I can't be missing too much work, as we employees of the faltering financial institution are not permitted to have lives outside of work.

Oh, goodness, sensing a little hostility there! Sheesh. I am hating that job so much. I've no intention on staying much longer. I'd have been gone a month or two ago, but I carry the family's health insurance through that job and that's the only thing that keeps me there.

The head honcho is a little old French-Canadian woman. Perfectionistic, demanding, impatient--she's so stereotypical it's pathetic. I can say this, having some French-Canadian blood in me and having experienced this type of woman more than once in my own damn family. I actually have traces of this in myself. Anyway, Head Honcho is freaking out because times are tough and the place is going down, running in the red, blah, blah, blah. And of course it's all the employees fault. We work short staffed because if someone quits or gets let go, they don't replace them. So we're short staffed and over worked, and mistakes happen frequently. Deal with it. One of these days I'm going to open my mouth and it's not going to be pretty.

And dammit, we're drinking too much water! The horror! Leave the water cooler alone and by the way, if you're supposed to leave at 5:15 but end up staying until 5:25, you're not getting paid for those extra 10 minutes.

I'm amazed that any of us still work there. I do know that there are calls being made to the state labor board, because of this bullshit.

Anyway. Enough about work. It's just pissing me off more. I may need to pop a half a clonipin to get through the rest of the day without flipping out.

All this bullshit and 2/3 of my check goes to pay daycare. What's the fucking point? Hubby and I are in agreement that I need to work nights and that is my eventual goal. I need to be home more, especially with those pesky adolescents (having been a teenager home alone much of the time, I know what can go on. I did it. Drugs, sex, drinking...oh yeah. All at home or the home of friends whose parents were working. And all at the ripe old age of 14 & 15). Just gotta figure out that health insurance dilemma.

Yeah. Today's Wednesday, which means weigh in day. I know I'm up, after five straight days of chocolate overload. Me + weed + Chocolate = You gained 2 pounds!!! Poopie kaka. Oh well, I'll do better next week.

Wednesday also means that I get to pick up a stepkid at The Douchebag's. Definitely need a Pin before that trip. She is such a loose cannon (not the only thing about her that's loose, haha), she tries to give me shit on occasion. I still have not figured out how Hubby could not have seen a cunt like that coming ten miles away.

I've got to woof down the rest of my Weight Watcher's Pepper Steak dinner and go back to work. Can't be late! That's UNACCEPTABLE!

Listening to:

Currently reading:

Thinking about: