09 October 2004 | 8:49 a.m.

OOOOOOOO, who lives in a pineapple under the sea?

I'm not feeling well at all this morning. It's almost 9 and I haven't showered yet. Normally, I'm in the shower by 6 am 7 days a week. The kids have had bananas, apples and cookies for breakfast. I am so glad that the only thing I'm obligated to do today is take the kiddos for haircuts at noon.

Well, the big in-law visit wasn't too bad. Millie wasn't too unbearable, and there was no Bible reading, even though we did have to have a prayer before lunch and dinner. Hub did go on the big hike in the woods out back, and Millie went too. I had to leave after a few to pick Minnie up at school, and they ended up being out there for 3 hours. So that was a nice break.

While out there, I guess Bill did tell that Hub should consider taking Jesus into his life, and HUb used the excuse that he "doesn't have time". Now, remember I'm no Bible-thumper, but I thought that was a pretty piss-poor excuse. Especially when his usual excuse to his holy roller sis-in-law (different bro's wife) is that he's going to hell no matter what.

And no comment on my Buddhas, even after I brushed up on facts! Oh well.


They had a great time, so much so that they're planning another visit before they leave at the end of October. And of course, Millie is coming along. The poor guy and his wife must be going bananas with her up their ass, but I guess she made it clear to them that that's where she plans to be for the month. At least "Ana", Bill's wife, is lucky enough not too know much English. I kept making quiet comments in Spanish all day, like "loco" and "cierra tu boca" (shut your mouth), which cracked her up and she commented that I know alot of Spanish and I said, "Only enough to perform a banking transaction or insult people". Firma su nombre, puta!

I just love Spanish. I'd love to just go to Mexico or some other Spanish-speaking country for like 6 months and learn it through total immersion.

Tomorrow we're going here. Some (rich) friends are staying there for the week and have invited us out for the day. I don't think they let the likes of me in there, but we're going anyway. It reminds me of the hotel from The Shining, except at the beach. Said friends would like to go out to dinner at the hotel dining room, but I checked out the menu at the website and it's really shi-shi foo-foo over-priced gourmet shit. I'm sorry, but I ain't payin' no $35 for any entree that includes goat cheese. Of course, I'm sure my friends are planning on picking up the tab, cuz that's what they do, but even so, every item on the menu made me bloated just reading it. And $12 for a salad? Hello? Is there an Applebees nearby?

Seriously, if I ever found myself loaded with cashmoney, I don't think I'd be able to live that type of lifestyle. I'd buy a nice home big enough to fit my family, upgrade the Chevy Venture for a Honda Odyssey, payoff my dad's house and find some good charities (first and foremost being the congenital heart disease research fund at Boston Children's Hospital) and let the kiddos know they can plan on going to any college they want.

I'm serious! A few of the business owners' wives in town drive around in Escalades like their shit don't stink and I refuse to partake. To me Escalade=future repo. One business shut down earlier this year amidst some pretty shady circumstances, and that Escalade got taken away on a flatbed. See? I'd like to keep any excess to a minimum. Anymore than that is just begging for trouble.

I think I'm going to have leftover lasagna for breakfast. Yum.

And maybe I'll get to that estimate for Hub.

Ciao.

Listening to:

Currently reading:

Thinking about: