01 November 2004 | 5:12 p.m.

Mission: Destroy Mom

I hope this fucking link works.

I wish there were more candidates like
this one
. She rocks, man! And she's got my vote. (Oh, and now you know where I live. Roughly).

I'm telling ya, Beavis was sent here to destroy me. This kid is so freakin' smart it's not even funny, but he's earning grades like...like...yeah, well, like I did at his age BUT THAT IS NOT THE ISSUE, here. The issue is that I pulled all the shit he is at my age, so I've kind of got the "been there, done that" upper-hand here. And I know that when I was at this critical age, I needed someone to crack the whip on me. But, my mom was gone by then, my grandmother was too old (plus I was such a little bitch, she probably figured "fuck her") and my dad was just winding down a five year drinking binge.

So here I am. Cracking the fuckin' whip. Me thinks it would probably would be easier to let the kid flunk and deal with it later in life, but easier is not always the best way. Prolly never is, but burnouts like myself lean toward it.

The little bastard JUST checked his freakin' agenda today and discovered, oh, yeah, I have a PROJECT due tomorrow. A science project on cells. I mean, I'm no scholar, but when it comes to cells, isn't that fairly basic, cut and dry, one of the easiest things about science? This is just what I can remember from college Biology, which I got an "A" in, btw. This is a kid who scored way over average in science a mere year or so ago. Now he's close to failing.

ANyway, upon discovery of the project being due (and I see those double caps, I don't care, I'm leaving them), he dove into it. By that, I mean, he read the paper describing what was expected. And then, he spent two hours crying. He wanted my help.

I'd love to say that I'm one of these moms who has the kids at the table for scheduled homework times and helps out and looks over homework. No, that's not me. Sorry. Math? Fucking forget it. This crap they're giving the kids now, and the way they do it, completely backward of how I was taught, is complete gibberish. I can help out a little with science. A little. I gave him some direction. I also gave him an earful, as I nearly killed him. Threats of violence and all.

So, two hours later, he's started.

Oh, AND, his last science project? Didn't turn it in. To me, an old hat at missing assignments, that means, NOT DONE. He says he turned it in, but it must be lost. Please. Do I have retard written on my forehead? Like I said, been there, done that. I can't wait for, "My teacher doesn't like me". That's my favorite.

My take on the whole situation is that his school work is HIS responsibility, and I only become involved when failing grades appear.

Perhaps that's the wrong approach.

And Hub just came home. Early. Why? Probably cuz of the fact that it got dark at 4:30. Of course, here I am, cranking away here, and a little put off that he intruded upon my updating.

He still doesn't know about my journal. And if I can keep it this way, I will. He won't get it.

Blah. I'm going to cook up some s'ketti. Aka Pisketti, aka skabetti.

Sayonara!

Listening to:

Currently reading:

Thinking about: