05 November 2004 | 8:16 a.m.

Incense, wine and candles

I woke up this morning feeling rather crappy, on account of the huge bottle of wine that I drank largely by myself, but felt better upon receiving the news that the only OPK I was expecting today was not coming. I'm still feeling a little icky, but I think I may get over it.

My candle party went great last night, I got a ton of free shit and some good price breaks. I am a candle freak, totally, I have entire shelves devoted to my supply, and ever since I discovered P@rtylite about a year ago, they've become my favorite. But freakin' pricey, ya know? I've never had any type of direct-marketing type party at my house before, but since (yet another) former co-worker became a consultant, I decided to have one. Plus I wanted some of that pricier shit that I just can't justify paying full price for. Like the huge 3 wick pillars. I'm sorry, I can't let myself pay $37 for a single candle, no matter how much I love the damn things. SO, I got one. For free. Along with a bunch of other shit.

My dear cousin and best friend, "Trina", whom I rarely mention here but really should, upon hearing the story of my homophobic stepson Butthead, tried to invite her very openly gay friend "Jimmy" to the party, but he was busy. The more she told me about Jimmy, the more I wanted to meet him, not because of Butthead, but because he sounded like so much fun. She says he doesn't even have to speak and you just know and he's quite a drama queen, and he's quite young, like 21 or so.

I am SUCH a "fag hag" it's not even funny. I just gravitate towards gay men so much. I took one look at Willie from the Real World this season and was like, "Oh! I want to hang out with him!".

I was one of those homophobic teenagers like Butthead. I wanted no part of gay people, male or female. Then I moved away and went to college, where I met many. I could chill with the guys, but lesbians still made me nervous. You know, my ignorant backwards ass attitude was, "well, I don't want no chicks hitting on me" (cuz god forbid I would LIKE it). Then one night, after hours of hard partying, I ended up hanging out with a friend of friends who was a very openly gay woman. It was just me and her and we chilled and smoked and talked and she was just so cool. And I was like, What an idiot I was, to deprive myself of cool friends because of their sexual orientation. I'd have sooner died than exclude people based on their race or ethnic heritage, so why did I think it was okay to do that with gay people? That was it. Light dawned on Marblehead. I was hanging out with a lot of gay students and watching their struggles and thinking to myself (as I had Beavis in this time), if there's one thing I would be willing to accept in my child, it would be if he were gay. And I've taught him acceptance (not just tolerance) since he was quite young. I'll do the same with my little ones as well.


Mayhaps this is why I get so pissed at Butthead? Because it reminds me of my formerly dumbass beliefs based solely on ignorance? Most likely.

HEY! Guess what! I got this stinky ol' pile of poopy journal registered on Diarist.net which I'm kind of excited about. I feel all warm and fuzzy and official-like .

The big boys are GONE for the weekend. Butthead is going with his wonderful mama for more lessons in ignorance and Beavis is going camping with the Boy Scouts. I've Minnie and Mickey for the weekend and that's it. I could just pee myself in excitement.

Okay. I've got to get off my ass.

Ciao.

Listening to:

Currently reading:

Thinking about: