21 November 2004 | 11:05 a.m.

Saturday Recap

No update yesterday, on account of the fact that I was terribly busy. But after three updates on Friday, I guess it�s no biggie, ey?

Beavis had Scouting for Food yesterday. I get such a kick out of the Boy Scouts, what a motley bunch. I know it�s not very PC, with the gay issue (whatever it is, I forget at the moment), but it�s good for the boy. He only joined last spring and I wished I�d started him long before because it�s a perfect fit.

Anyway, like I said, it is quite a crew. Beavis fits right in, but he�s giving them a run for their money.

Everyone met at a local parking lot and went and picked up food. I met them at the same parking lot two hours later. I couldn�t find Beavis at first but then I spotted him in a corner of the parking lot accompanied by the Packmaster guy, an Eagle scout and a couple of other scouts. And I notice that the Packmaster and the Eagle scout are speaking pretty firmly to him. Great, what the fuck did he do now?

�And Beavis, you shouldn�t throw beer bottles around not only because it�s dangerous, but because it�s beer .� (They frown upon those things. They all seem to like me enough, if only they knew what a horrible influence I really am).

Fucker. Beavis was holding a stick and I told the Packmaster to feel free to beat him with it to save me the trouble.

So, Beavis and one of his buddies walked over to the van with me and Minnie and Mickey. This buddy cracks me up and he and I joke around together when I see him. I knew his older brother from the credit union, he was captain of the wrestling team last year (I just loved the wrestlers in school, they were the coolest jocks. Hub was a wrestler.) and is one hottie. I can say this now because he�s 18. It�s so fun, as the mother of a 13 year old kid�s buddy, to tell that kid that his older brother is a babe. But that�s neither here nor there.

(An aside: Yesterday Beavis brought up one of his friend�s dads. This is the dad I mentioned a month ago who I think is hot. So I told Beavis, �I like Brian�s dad. He�s hot�. Beavis goes, �Mom!� all aghast and shit, �He�s married! And has kids!�. �Me too Beav, but I can�t think he�s hot?�. So fun to rattle his cage like that).

Beavis and pal were goofing off, and Mickey was starting to run about a little too much, so I said, �Beavis, let�s get going before Mickey gets hit by a car. Or a frickin� beer bottle�.

Beavis�s buddy absolutely cracked up. I could hear him telling Beavis, �Your mom is so cool, Beavis. Why can�t my mom be like your�s?�. I love that shit.

Anyway. Last night we went out. To the annual credit union Christmas party (they have it before Thanksgiving every year on account of the fact that it�s cheaper). Why did I go to the Christmas party if I haven�t worked there since July, you ask? A former co-worker, Marcia, invited me to be her date since her husband was going to be out of town. Marcia�s really kind of straight and narrow, conservative, strictly two-drinks-only type of chick, but she�s friggin hilarious and we get along really well.

So, originally I was going to go without Hub, but then another former co-worker, and older woman named Gloria, thought to invite him as her guest. Gloria is a fucking riot. You look at her and see this sweet little old lady, but she�s got the mouth of a sailor and her mind is in the gutter. She�s awesome, exactly how I�m going to be at her age.

We ended up going with Andrea and her fiancee Willy. Hub and Willy are like best buds. We smoked before we went to the party, which wasn�t such a great idea because we haven�t had any smoke in a few days, and I ended up getting retarded.

Now, every year at the Christmas party, Shelly gets obnoxiously drunk. It�s a given. She showed up drunk last night, as her husband Ronnie said she�d started drinking at 1:00 in the afternoon. And nobody wants to sit with her. So, as much as we wanted our table to be Hub, me, Andrea, Willy, Gina, her hubby Joe, Gloria and Marcia, we couldn�t because Shelly would end up with us. So everyone scattered and Hub, me and Marcia ended up with Shelly. Marcia has never been around someone like that, so her reaction was the best.

Shelly was so bad, oh my god. I don�t know how she can be like that. And I�m a friggin� drunk ass too, but I know better than to do it at a work function! And I don�t even work there anymore!!!

We kept getting looks from everybody, like �ha! You got stuck with her!�. After a bit, I scooted over to Jen, who�s a manager and wicked cool and said, �Oh, so this is what I get for quitting, huh?�. She busted up. She was like, �Yes! That�s what you get!�.

Shelly quieted down a lot when she realized that we were all ignoring her, and ended up being pissed off and depressed and skipped out without saying anything. I think probably Ronnie dragged her ass out. Shelly does have a good heart and is more bearable when sober, but she is a mess. Totally.

After the party, Hub, me, Andrea, Willy, Gina and Joe went for drinks at one of those private men�s clubs you have to be a member of to go to. Joe�s a member there. I like to go there because I always see people from the old days, as a matter mcfact most of the old gang from my losing virginity story are members there.

Hub�s sister Lily was there with her husband Leo. Lily used to work at the credit union too. So we hung out there and had a blast. Lily was trashed. She�s a fun drunk.

This guy from back in the day, Kevin, was there. I went to school with Kevin since third grade. He was best friends with Hub growing up, too. He was just a guy I knew, someone I was friends with but not interested in seeing as he wasn�t a bad boy and that was my thing.

The last time I saw Kevin was just months after graduation. Holy shit. He got hot. I couldn�t take my eyes off him. This happens all the time. Why couldn�t I have known then, that these regular guys who were all around me, would turn out to be such good men? RRR.

I told Hub as much, �What the hell is up with guys like you and Kevin? You didn�t seem like much in high school but you got hot when you got older?!?�

We�re planning on going to a bar Wednesday night. This bar is notorious every year on the night before Thanksgiving for having a little high school reunion for like every single graduating class of my high school that is still alive. I�ve never been, and now, what with the weight loss thing, I�m itching to.

Anyways. I think I should get my stinky ass into the shower seeing as it�s 11:00 now and maybe I can actually get something accomplished today.

Yah right.

Adios!

Listening to:

Currently reading:

Thinking about: