26 November 2004 | 1:49 p.m.

Pending the trial

I�m not in the greatest of moods today. I met with Hub�s lawyer this morning to go over my testimony. I can look forward to at least an hour and a half on the stand. Fucking yippee yee-ha. Questioning my marriage and what happened and when, yada yada yada. Ugh. I�m thankful that soon it will be over and done with.

Oh my god! I didn�t even go into the fact that we got Chester�s criminal record the other day. Holy fucking shit. Makes my brother look like an angel. Chester�s goes back to 1980, and has been fairly consistent since. Hub has the actual paper with him right now, or else I could just list off all kinds of shit, so I�ll have to go by memory. My personal favorite on the list was conspiracy to commit murder. Bunch of possession of drugs and guns, disorderlies and driving violations and shit like that, and quite a few possession of hypodermics or syringes. Nice. That�s someone you want living with your kid.

We also got more details of Chester�s brushes with the law last spring (jeez I would LOVE to go into details--fuck it, one time he fell out of the window of his 3rd story apartment while drunk and broke two ankles and the other time he holed up in the same apartment with a gun and had a standoff with police. Nice, huh! This is the guy that Esther said was a better father figure to Daisy than Hub. How the fuck does that work?! She�s cooked), which we knew about from reading in the newspaper but we got police reports with the skinny and it mentioned him having crack smoking devices in the apartment.

And to hear Esther�s side of it, you�d think Hub and I are the most evil people on the planet. I can�t wait to see what kind of shit she�s going to come up with. Ugh. Makes my stomach all icky just thinking about it. I�m going in expecting the worst. I have visions of walking up to the stand and being presented with a copy of this diary. That�s how fucking stressed out I am about it.

Oh, and so funny. At a court hearing last winter, Chester stood up and asked to say something to the judge. I�d never heard him talk before. It was so creepy, it made my skin crawl. He was going into how much he and Daisy loved each other, and if she saw him again that everyone would know because she would be so excited she wouldn�t be able to keep quiet about it. And the words he used to express it, �If Daisy and I saw each other again, body to body and soul to soul�� that were just downright creepy. Body to body and soul to soul? (His exact words). Who says this about a kid? Who says this about a kid you�re accused of molesting?

Anyway, Hub�s lawyer, Jeanne, has subpoenaed him to court for next Wednesday. I asked her this morning what she had in store for him. She laughed and said she really didn�t want him up there for testimony per se, she just wants him to talk! Just say whatever! So he can show the court that creepy thing.

And she tells me that she spoke to the lawyer who represented him on his recent criminal troubles, and the lawyer asked her how the custody thing was going. She filled him in a bit, and then he tells her, �Well, the best thing for your client�s case would be just to put Chester on the stand and have him open his mouth�. Ha!

I don�t know what the hell Esther could have seen in him. This and all the other shit we hear about him, like the fact that he can�t go to their favorite dive bar hangout anymore per the request of the police department because he was causing too many problems with people beating him up or his starting fights. He�s nothing to look at, short, skinny, ugly, yucky. Esther�s none too attractive herself, but I personally think she could have done better than him. I mean, she had Hub at one point.

One good thing is that Hub insists I go buy two new outfits for court. All the nice clothes I bought last year are a size too big. He won�t let me wear the little skimpy skirt I bought last week for the Christmas party. Too bad I�m past the point where it�s fun just to look like I do next to Esther. Last spring it was. Not now. Although I suppose it makes sitting in the stuffy courtroom a little easier.

Anyway, Hub is home, as is the nosy little bastard patrol. I gotta go.

Ciao!


Listening to: Jimmy Neutron (louder than the radio)

Currently reading: "Last MAn Standing" David Baldacci

Thinking about: Good reasons to get out of court