24 December 2004 | 7:09 a.m.

Merry Fucking Christmas

Merry fuckin� Xmas Eve, all!

I�m up way too early this am because I had a child arrive at 6:00 am. I just had to take advantage of the quiet time to update. Nobody else is up and probably won�t be for an hour or so. Groovy.

I slept like a rock last night. I was so beat. Hub was looking to get himself a little sumpin-sumpin as I was still pretty horned up from the night before, but I just passed right out once I hit the bed. THAT�S how tired I was. Out like a light.

I didn�t even mention the significance of yesterday�s date when I updated yesterday. I really wasn�t thinking of it until later. It was the anniversary of my mom�s death. I still think about her all the time, and I tell my kids about her (what I can remember), but the sting isn�t as bad as it used to be. Not as bad, but it still sucks. Then, I happened to click on an interesting banner and the entry on the page was a letter to the diarist�s mom who had died. OMG. It brought tears to my eyes, as I felt what she was feeling. I�ve done that too, written a letter to my mom. Big time sucky thing, to lose your mom. (The other diarist signed my g-book if you want to check it out. I don�t know her well, so I don�t feel comfy linking at this time).

It was also Butthead�s 16th birfday. He had a great one. He gets screwed on his b-day every year due to it�s closeness with Xmas. Earlier this year, I decided that wasn�t going to happen again, and I put aside the cash for his present back then, knowing we�d likely be broke by now (and we are). I (oh, sorry, �we�) got him a $100 gift card for FYE. I handed him the card and said, �Sorry, we just couldn�t afford a gift for you� (after I�d already teased him about the gift, that it was small, but could turn big--hehe, kinda like my old man!). When he saw the card and the amount, he was psyched. Then I told him he could use it online, and he was on the computer in a flash. Only I forgot he was grounded from it. Oops. Anyway, between what we got him and what his girlfriend and her family got him, he had a really great b-day. Only he didn�t want a sweet 16 party.

Heh. I got drunk on my 16th birthday.

I haven�t even started wrapping yet. At least I have the wrap and shit, that�s better than every other year. I was going to wrap last night (and the night before), but that wasn�t happening. So, tonight, just like every other Xmas Eve that I can remember, I�ll be up late wrapping. Whoopee-frickin�-doo.

Tomorrow, we are spending Xmas with my family. This means we have to dress up and we can�t bring a 20 pack. There�ll be alcohol there, and I�ll likely suck down my share of wine, but we can�t walk in looking like we�re ready to get all kinds of fucked up. This is the difference between my family and Hub�s.

Of course, last Xmas was the first we all got together after my grandmother passed away, and we had a good time. One of my cousin�s, �Ross�, the family yuppie, got a bit plowed and confronted another cousin, �Ally�, about the status of her sexuality. We�ve been wondering amongst ourselves for years if she could be a lesbian. Not that there�s anything wrong with that. But, she never has a man, which in itself doesn�t mean anything, but a few years ago she brought a girlfriend to a family get together and they were very friendly with each other. Anyway, she claims to be straight, and it turns out that she�s been seeing the same guy since she was 16, so like 10 years or more. Only this guy is much older and married. I�m thinking she�s in denial.

When I talk about my family, I�m talking about my dad�s side, his two sisters and their kids and grandkids. Now, for years, my dad and Ned and I have been the wild ones of the family. Or so we thought. My cousin Ross is in his early 40�s. He went to college and got a degree in economics and established himself a cozy little life. Married a beautiful woman, had a couple of kids and built a gorgeous big house in the swanky section of town. Here, we all thought they were living the American dream. But that was not so. There�s been infidelities on his part AND he paid for that house by scamming his dad�s family. And he just lost his license for DWI. Etc, etc, etc, I guess it�s not all paradise. And that makes it so much easier for me to get along with Ross knowing he�s merely human like the rest of us. And I do get along with Ross well, as we tend to be the more inebriated ones when we get together.

Family gossip. Ain�t it great.

Anyhoo, I�ve got a big day ahead. I�m hitting the grocery store early to get it out of the way. Me and the rest of town. The weather is going to be gorgeous today (I had doors and windows open yesterday, woo!), so I might take the kids walking on the trails if it�s not going to be too rainy. I need exercise big time.

Merry Fucking Christmas!

Listening to: Max and Ruby on Noggin.

Currently reading: "Young Wives" Olivia Goldsmith

Thinking about: Taking a shower.