23 January 2005 | 7:48 a.m.

Greetings from the Ice Planet Hoth

This is getting ridiculous.


Here's the view from my front door right now:

And from my back door:

My husband has been gone for 12 hours now, and will probably be gone for 12 more. My van looks like a snowbank. I suppose I shouldn't bitch. This storm is going to make us a bunch o' cash.

I ended up going out for a little while yesterday afternoon. Nina (my nephew Jayden's mom) called and asked if I could give her a ride out to her boyfriend's parents to drop off her boys. For gas money and a doob. Uh, okay, no problem especially since I knew it was my last opportunity to see the light of day without kids up my butt for a while.

I told Hub I'd be gone about an hour. And I believed that would be true. So, like George Costanza says, "It's not a lie if you believe it". Because I left at 2:45, not a flake of snow to be seen, and came home at 6:30 (oopsie!) with a good two inches on the ground already.

First, I forgot about how Nina is slow as fuck. So it took us forever just to get out of her house. PLus Scottie from the Sean story was there so I shot the shit with him for a few. Then we got to her boyfriend's parents house. Wicked French Canadian people. Like, they've been here for 25, 30 years but still sound fresh outta Quebec. So we visited with them for a bit. Like an hour. Listened to them bitch at each other loudly in French. It was like being at my grandmother's when I was a kid.

Anyway, then Nina needs to stop at Bob's, the local pot pusher. These are all people I knew back 9, 10 years ago. Nobody fucking recognizes me now. So we had to hang out there, with two or three other blasts from the past. Another one of whom I told that I married Hub and he was like, "When the hell did that happen?". We get a ton of that because we grew up in the same neighborhood in jr high and high school, knew each other but didn't hang out, and definitely wouldn't have hooked up back then.

Anyway, had to stay there and shoot the shit and smoke one. Yeah, I'm so good at quitting.

Then we left there and back to Nina's. By then her boyfriend was home, and Scottie was still there, along with Nina's mom and some other guy. Another doobie. At 6:15 I finally accepted the fact that I had to go home and relieve Hub. He wasn't even pissed. Cool! But he was right out the door when I got home.

Anyway, nothing since. Just snow. Snow. I'm fucking drowning in it. I just CAN'T WAIT until the kids start wanting to go out in this shit. Yey, wet clothes and boots all day. Along with a ton of hot cocoa and marshmallow fluff. Hooray for me.

Ciao.

Listening to: "Bust A move" Young MC. This station plays this song way too much.

Currently reading: The Bone Collector. And today, I am going to read for a while.

Thinking about: Popsicles.