28 January 2005 | 10:32 a.m.

Heart Stuff. And other stuff. It's not ALL serious.


And so begins another Friday. I will refrain from bitching about my husband today, cuz it�ll just get ugly. Besides, I have more important things on my mind.

I got the call from Boston Children�s yesterday regarding Mickey�s MRI. Quicker than expected. We�ve got to go twice, first the day before (Valentine�s Day, which is also Congenital Heart Defect--CHD--Awareness Day) to meet with anesthesia and then back the next day for the MRI. I�m trying not to worry about it too much, but have to expect the worst as well. When he was first diagnosed, I was unprepared and in shock, and since then I have always prepared myself for the worst. At least the MRI procedure is simple and doesn�t involve pain. There has been no talk of surgery or anything life threatening and my worst fear is he�ll have to have a cardiac catheter at this point. But I won�t rule out a coarc repair. Which is probably worst case scenario. That procedure, btw, is known as �closed heart surgery�, because it does not involve being put on the heart-lung machine. But his aorta isn�t a full out coarc, it�s just �tortuous�, which I guess means �bumpy� in laymen�s terms.

Children�s is one of the most incredible places I�ve ever been to. Their cardiac program is one of the best in the world. I know my baby is in good hands. We stayed there for 6 days in 2000 when he had his surgery and I saw some things there that were absolutely amazing. Some of the heart kids are very, very sick and not strong like Mickey. But to see the way the pediatric cardiologists and cardiovascular surgeons can fix these kids and give them not only a chance at life, but at a better quality of life, it�s just astounding.

I met parents from all over the country and the world. We all kind of bonded in the Cardiac Intensive Care Unit�s parent�s room (Mickey was in the CICU for three days). I remember I had had three weeks prior to his surgery to learn all I could about heart defects and procedures, and learn I did. I joined a support group which helped immensely. Then I met people who no sooner had given birth to their baby then the baby had to be med-flighted right away to Boston, knowing nothing about heart defects. I was able to help some of those folks with the knowledge I�d learned from my research.

This is how well we bonded. There was a big sign up that said �no cell phones� because it fucks up the equipment that some babies were depending on to survive. One fucking asshat walked right into the parent�s room blabbing away on his. We lynched him. I remember one guy yelled at him, �My kid�s life depends on a machine that could be affected by your fucking phone. Shut it off NOW�. He did.

Anyway, since we�re going to be at Children�s on CHD Awareness Day, I contacted my girl at Little Hearts and volunteered to help out while we�re there. The appointment with anesthesia is not likely to be very long, probably shorter than the 45 minute ride down, so I�d like to hang out and help. And I�m going to show Mickey the cardiac floor (6 East) where he stayed after his operation.

I know I�m linking like crazy, but please click on this one . I got it from LittleHearts last night. Just when you think you have it bad, something comes along that makes you realize, it could be worse. This poor little boy has a tumor inside and outside his heart and they couldn�t fix it with surgery, so he is in desperate need of a heart transplant, but because he is so small, he can only get an infant�s heart, it has to be a match, and there are other criteria that needs to be met as well. For now, he is surviving on a heart-lung machine. He truly needs a miracle. Unfortunately, that miracle has to involve the death of another infant. It�s just so sad. I�m all teary eyed right now thinking about poor Jordan and his parents.

Yeah, there�s definitely a sensitive, wishy washy side to me.

Anyway, tonight is the big Athena�s party. Andrea, Katie, one of Andrea�s girls who I know but haven�t nicknamed yet and me are going together. I don�t plan on spending too much money. I already know what I want. I asked Hub if there was anything he wanted, but he had no idea. I said, �How about a nice cock ring?� and he just looked at me funny. He�s getting boring.

And tomorrow morning at 10:00 tickets go on sale for U2. Guess where I�ll be at 9:55 tomorrow morning. Right here, waiting for 10:00. I�m going to try for floor seats (general admission, baby!), but if not, I�m settling for the $95.00 tickets. That means watching the show from the top of a building in Bunker Hill, I think. No way am I paying fucking $165 for the good tickets.

Oh and we get Hilda this weekend. Whoopee-doo. I do believe she�ll be getting some new thongs though. I have to keep up being the cool step-mom, ya know. And I�m taking my nephew Jayden and his little bro Josh for a few hours tomorrow afternoon. Mickey and Josh are the same age, and neither have other 4 year old boys to play with, so they�ll definitely have fun.

Oh and when I called Nina yesterday to ask about it, she said fucking Dick had shown up at their place out of the blue! She said she hasn�t seen him in over a year and he was looking for her mom. She believes the only reason he wanted to see her mom was to ask for a room to rent. Oops, except they�ve got that place filled to the max right now. So I guess it must be over with his girlfriend (she had enough, good for her). Which means my child support is probably gonna be all fucked up again. Ducky.

Anyway, this is long enough. I must start my laundry now so that I don�t have to do it this weekend. I�ve got enough to do.

Ta ta for now!!!!


UPDATE: my linkage was all fucked up. I don;t know why. I had like four, and only two work. Fuckin' A!

SECOND UPDATE: Baby Jordan got his heart! Read here if you're interested.

Listening to: Cher. It's on the radio. I'm putting a CD in. I can't put up with this shit.

Currently reading: "Bad Boy" Olivia Goldsmith

Thinking about: Hearts. U2. A big fat gigantic dildo.