14 March 2005 | 9:45 p.m.

Boston, pictures and all.

Yeah�so we went to Boston today for his �pre-anesthesia� or whatever the heck it was appointment. Today was the easy part, except for when Mickey found out he couldn�t have breakfast tomorrow morning and that pissed him right the hell off. I don�t blame him. I am now a nervous wreck about tomorrow, and it�s the anesthesia that�s bugging me. They said that it�s not the same level they�d use on, like, open heart surgery, but more like they�d use to put tubes in his ears. Whatever, it�s still bothering me. It�s not bothering him as much as missing breakfast is.

I forgot to give the kids the whole �there are lots of sick kids there, kids who are in wheelchairs and who look very different and some might not have hair or some body parts, etc, but they still have feelings just like you so please be nice� talk before we got there, and lo and behold, some sweet little girl without a strand of hair on her head walked right next to Mickey and he said, �HEY! THAT KID HAS NO HAIR!�. Fucker. I gave him the chat at that point and he was cool after that.

Some of those kids there would just break your heart, until you realize the spirit they have is incredible. I fell in love with about four different little kids today, just ones I saw in the lobby and waiting rooms. This one little guy had a cranio-facial defect going on, but he was so cute and sweet, I just wanted to take him home. Yeah, I was meant to be the mom of a special kid, for sure.

Anyway, I said I�d take my camera and I did. The picture craze is fun. Here�s Dukkha�s photo commentary on her trip to Boston on this, the 14th day of March 2005:

Here we go, on our way (this point being about a 5-7 minute ride from my house, and a whole minute to the Mass border):

And here we are coming into town (I realize that my windshield seriously needs a douching, but my wiper blade got fucked up in the storm before last, and I haven�t replaced it yet):

The Zakim, which I have yet to ride on, and therefore it continues to fascinate me:

Our destination, one of the absolute most amazing places in the entire world, but that�s just my opinion, and I am totally biased, just so you know:

But before his appointment, we went to McD�s at the Longwood Galleria. Here you see my darling little boy, being his usual cute self, and behind him you can see the totally hot construction dude (in the grey) that was checking me out the whole time I was there. (Oh! Did I forget to mention ALL the hot guys I saw? Yes, it was fun for Dukkha�s eyes today, construction dudes, med students, doctors, suit and tie guys, you name it, there was a type for every girl). The green sweatshirt is funny. �Billerica�. I just like to say that. BILLERICA MASS. Dick worked for a company out of Billerica, and the name is just funny to me. I�m weird like that. Anyway, the boy:

We killed about a half an hour looking at these damn fish:

When the appointment was over, we headed to the van, and the kids acted like goofballs while I tried to get this shot:

Traffic? In Boston? Say it isn�t so.

The FleetCenter. No, I won�t be seeing U2 there in May, but I will be going to see Elton John there in September! Happy Birthday and Welcome Back from Aruba and go see EJ in Boston! Maybe I�ll get to ride on the Zakim too!



Here is one of those little mysteries in life, and it�s totally regional. Bear with me. It�s 95, but it�s 128 too. Same road, two names. Not the end of the mystery. I�m heading home, to NH, and NH is ALWAYS north of Mass. So why do I take 95/128 South to go north?


And, finally, the sign says �Welcome To New Hampshire�Bienvenue!�. Yes, Bienvenue means �Welcome� in French. French Canadians abound. We�ll be home in about 7 minutes.

And there you go. I can plan on spending about four hours down there tomorrow. And Hub�s going. Why, I don�t know, but he wants to go. Maybe cuz he knew I was planning on spending the downtime quietly reading a book and observing all the different kids, and why would I want to do that when I could sit there and listen to him go on and on about all the same shit I hear him go on and on about all the fucking time?

Anyway, until tomorrow night or Wednesday day, ciao!

Listening to: Nothing except the dryer running. It's nice.

Currently reading: "Switcheroo" Olivia Goldsmith

Thinking about: Sleep. I'm tired.