09 June 2005 | 2:06 p.m.

The little update that could

I�m no longer a lobster. I�m now a snake, shedding my skin. OMG. I was putting on Aloe Vera like three or four times a day, but I guess my burn was pretty bad. Yesterday, suddenly I got all kinds of white blister-y type bumps all over my back and then they started peeling.

It was so disgusting that Beavis asked me to make sure I didn�t let anyone see my back at his school concert. Shithead. I did wear a tank top (hi, in the freaking gymnasium with a bajillion other people, no AC, no windows�I don�t care how hideous I am, I�m wearing a tank top) but I sat against the wall so my back was less visible.

Anyway. What I�d like to do is fill a tub with aloe vera gel, and just soak in it. Instead, I picked up some Solarcaine spray and some new aloe vera gel, just in case the stuff I had was defective or something. I have not peeled like this in years, pretty much ever since I started using aloe on sunburns which was like 10 or so years ago. I�m hideous.

Yesterday. I didn�t have Bobby and Cindy. Their mom called at the last minute to say they wouldn�t be coming this week. Seems there was some drama on the home front. I think I�ve written about the living situation like once. Maybe. Anyway, Shelley is Bobby and Cindy�s mom. Adam, aka �PunkDaddy�, is Cindy�s dad. They were living with Adam�s mom Sandy, who I worked with at the credit union, and Adam�s dad, since last summer. Well, Shelley called me yesterday to say that Sandy had kicked her and the kids out of the house, but Adam could stay. Shelley said it was because of Bobby and his anger issues. She said they were staying with a friend of her�s out in New Ipswich (the original illegal immigrant arresting town) and she still wanted to keep me, they were going to find their own place asap, yada yada yada.

Well. It just so happens that Andrea was driving up to Manch-Vegas with Sandy yesterday (as my little credit union is merging with a much larger one, �the nation�s first credit union� and they all have to go up there for training), so I got the other side of the scoop from her. She said that actually what happened was that Adam and Shelley had a fight the night before because Adam, who I guess is sober and going to AA and shit, found out that Shelley was sneaking booze or something. And I guess in passing Sandy had mentioned to him that, yes, if Bobby didn�t shape up they might ask them to move (which, you�ve read me bitch about him, and I�ve got him 8 hours a week, tops. I can�t imagine living with him. I�d go nuts!). So in the course of the fight, Adam brought that up and Shelley took it to mean they had to move.

What it boils down to is, I truly enjoy watching other people�s drama. I don�t so much enjoy having my own, although I do get my share, but watching the shit that goes on between people I know, that�s great. It makes me feel a little more normal.

However, today I have just Cindy. Well, her and Makayla and Colin, too, but no Bobby. She�s got the dads taking them tonight, Adam will pick up Cindy here and she was dropping Bobby to his dad�s. There ya go.

So, yeah, then last night was Beavis�s spring concert. Of course on a freaking Wednesday night, right? Yup. I�d weighed in at WW earlier, before I picked up Daisy at The Douchebag�s, as that is my responsibility now with the warm weather. I lost about half a pound, which is cool considering my portion of that fried seafood dinner at Brown�s on Saturday. That among other things.

Beavis had to be at the school for 6:30, but wasn�t scheduled to go on until 8:15. Which means, I had to sit through an hour and 15 fucking minutes of everybody else until Beavis played. He plays the drums in the band, btw. It was so damn hot in that gym, it sucked. One girl had to be taken out on a stretcher. You know I got pictures of that shit.

See, my first attempt at editing my photo�s with paint. Please excuse it, I�m a newbie. I�ll learn. Don�t strain your eyes too much, I�ll �slpain after:


Up in the upper corner, the little blurb says: �This scene held things up a bit�. It did. I also pointed out the boy, in the middle there in red, and then my old music teacher from 7th & 8th grade, who has been Beavis�s band teacher since last school year, Mr. Martens. When I found out Beavis had him, I told him not to tell him that I was his mom. I acted up a lot in his class and was not his favorite student. Beavis has carried on the tradition.

Why do they have to have these concerts on the hottest days? It�s always so damn hot in there. Fuck. I thought I was going to die in there. It was so nice of them to make us those �programs�, which turned out to be useful as fans. When I was finally able to get the hell out into the fresh air, it was pouring and thundering and lightning. Ducky.

And last night a skunk sprayed outside and the smell came into the house from the front, where my bedroom is. You know how it is when you smell it kinda close up, and the stank gets in your nose and throat? Not as bad as right close up to the stink, but kinda like passing it on the road really close with the windows open. Nice night.

OMG, can I get that aloe bath now? I�m ready to just scratch my skin right off and it�s killing me not to. Who wants to come peel me? You know you want to!

Now, I�ll answer a few questions that I was too lazy to yesterday. Both question-ers are locked, so you�ll have to excuse my lack of linkage.

For Ali, I smoke everyday. I�ve been trying to cut down, and lately have only been once a day. We�ll see how long that lasts. And never in front of the kids. We currently have a �don�t ask, don�t tell� kinda policy with them. Although Butthead is 16 and Beavis is just about 14, and they�re not stupid, so I just assume that they do know. And I did the bottle with rocks thing. Colin did enjoy it, although my little Mickey (age 4) played with it way more than Colin did. He even made his own so he wouldn�t have to share. He used rocks from outside covered with dirt and still had water in his bottle, so he had the added fun effect of mud!

And Jess, I�m listened to regular old-fashioned FM radio, WFNX, 101.7 Boston/92.1 NH. They play �Speed of Sound� every two hours. I�m keeping track.

The sun is peeking out. Yey! It�s been so blah and dreary all day and all I want to do is eat, eat, eat. And Mickey is being a total whinebag right now. He�s been eating since 11:30, straight, and is still insisting that he�s hungry. And now Minnie and Cindy are arguing. Shoot me now please.

Gotta go.


Listening to: Commercials

Currently reading: "Dark Horse"

Thinking about: Gotta do payroll ASAP.