27 June 2005 | 10:50 a.m.

"Hey, Hoops, you ever notice how people die in alphabetical order?"

This weekend kinda sucked. The PMS and other problems didn�t help, nor did the fucking sweltering heat. And people suck, too. Big time.

Friday night Robert two-wayed Hub and asked if it was okay if they came up Saturday night with some other friends, they were going to bring their camper and stay overnight. Sure! Hub said we�d get some food and hang out, it�d be great.

So, I spent Saturday morning running around and buying hot dogs, hamburgers, buns, chips, beer, liquor, the whole nine. Money I�d rather be saving for the trip to New York but, what the hell? I like being a good host.

So, Saturday afternoon I took the kids swimming at Robinson Pond here in town. It�s a great little swimming hole, and it�s only open to Hudson residents (and they like actually make sure that you�re a resident before they let you in) so there�s not a lot of punk ass riff raff hanging around. (We have our share of riff raff in Hudson, but not much, most is in Nashua at the public pools and they can stay there). And it�s just nice there. But I digress.

I figured I�d give Robert and Rhonda a call to let them know Beavis wasn�t home (He went camping with the Boy Scouts and spent Saturday at Water Country in Portsmouth. Rough, huh? And he keeps saying he hates the Boy Scouts, yet he still has a ton of fun). Well, this is at around 2:00 in the afternoon. And Rhonda informs me, �Oh, we�re not coming. We�re going to Cheryl and Lou�s instead so we can go swimming�. Thanks a fucking lot.

Now, I�m well aware that they can be assholes like that, I�ve known them for 16 fucking years, I caught onto that a long time ago, but I was pissed cuz I�d already bought all that fucking food, which if I hadn�t, I�d have an extra $50 to take to NY. Piss me off.

Plus it�s nice having adult company sometimes. I miss it. I spend far too much time with the kids. We were originally supposed to go swimming at the folk�s who have the $70,000 waterfall, but that fell through when I hadn�t heard from them by 1:00 and the kids were going bananas to go swimming. Hub came home from work at roughly 4:00, and proceeded to sit and watch tv and ignore me and the kids. Which further irritated me. I can only speak to 4, 6, and 7 year olds for so long before I�d like to talk to an adult again.

I wish I had a neighbor girlfriend on the road, one who stays home and has kids and likes to drink and shit like me. Just someone to hang out and be crass with. Is that so much to ask? Apparently, yes. The other moms in the neighborhood either work or are all uptight (ie; that fucking douche bag �Nancy� down the road) or whatever. I don�t know what�s up with the new people down the road, but their kids aren�t running the road unattended so I give them bonus points for that.

Anyway, the kids were pumped for a fire, since we bought 3 bags of marshmallows at the store, so I left Hub on his ass in the house and started the fire all by myself, which I�ve never done before, but am pretty impressed with my skills. I learned it from watching Beavis do it the Boy Scout way. When Hub finally came out, all he did was fuck it up by throwing a big, wet log on it. Thanks.

It seemed like this weekend was a test of my step-motherhood, I swear. Fucking Hilda, who so desperately wanted to go to NY with us? Now doesn�t want to go. Why, because I tell you like it is and don�t try to kiss your little lying, klepto ass? Bitch. Try to do something just to be nice and she has to act like that. There goes spending a lot of time here this summer, bitch. Stay home and make your mother miserable. I got enough to keep myself miserable. See. There�s a reason why I nicknamed her �Hilda�, because she�s a witch.

Pardon my harshness. But I hate when you try to do something nice for a kid, and you get shit on in return. I go out of my way for that little bitch, and all she can do is bitch about how everything is so unfair to her. Fine. Whatever. Bitch. No more going out of my way for you. Stay in your hot, smokey house with your mom who doesn�t do shit while I spend the summer at the pond with the kids who appreciate the shit I do for them. Oh yeah, and in my neighborhood with all the kids your age that you like so much, as opposed to your neighborhood with no friends for you.

And Butthead had to start with the mouth. He doesn�t get �leave me the fuck alone�. Even if I say it nicely. And he thinks that because, supposedly, the computer downstairs is broken (my ass), that he can just come up here and corrupt my computer all he wants. Fuck you. Asshole. His girlfriend is up north visiting her grandmother and he�s been nothing but a pain in the ass since she left. I don�t know if it�s cuz he�s bored or because he needs to get his pee-pee wet, but he was a real dink this weekend.

I�m so glad he works all day with Hub. I would go nuts if he were here all day. I�d kill someone.

And that whole child support thing absolutely blows. Fucking bullshit. I talked to Hub�s lawyer and she�s on it, she is 100% confident they won�t take his license, and if they do (which they shouldn�t, he�s been fucking paying for crying out loud), then we motion the court for some shit. I don�t know. I�d like nothing to do with this shit, personally.

Yeah and then yesterday Dick took the kids, all bragging about his big paycheck from his new job, I wonder if he paid his? He didn�t mention it. But it would be nice if he did. I mean, he�d stand to lose his license too if I wanted to be a bitch but right now that is not my point in life.

It�s all coming down to the fact that I do need to get the fuck out of Dodge for a little bit and my trip to NY could not be at a better time. I talked to my friend Linda out there last Friday (or Thursday? I forget) and said how we�d be leaving on Tuesday to save money, and she really wants us to stay until Wednesday, and she even insisted on carrying come of the cash burden if that�s what it takes. Which I hate to do but she talked me into it. Even though, without Hilda�s 12 cookie eating ass to feed it�s going to be cheaper now anyway.

Linda is originally from Jamestown, but after high school she went away to college and subsequently met her first husband Bill (oh now there�s a piece of work) and spent the next decade or so moving all over the country with him, when she ended up here and got divorced, and then she met my dad. They were together five years or so until they broke up, and a year or so later she moved back to Jamestown. I moved out there a few years later for my brilliant geographical cure, which only resulted in my attending college and getting knocked up with Beavis. Which are two positives, for sure.

Well, then Linda moved down to South Carolina for a few years, and made a mint doing mortgages down there. Million plus dollar home mortgages, nice commissions.

Before, when I was living in Jamestown, Linda had had a little affair with the man (Chuck) she was working for, a married man who was a lawyer and a very prominent figure in town, quite possibly the richest man in town. But, he wouldn�t divorce his wife on account of the fact that she�d get a big bunch of his money. So they ended it, but stayed friends for years.

Fast forward to 2000, Linda is still is South Carolina, and Chuck�s wife goes and dies. The dirt was still fresh on her grave when Linda started going on all these vacations and shit with him, and then she�s making plans to move back to Jamestown! They got married in July 2003, which was our first return trip to Jamestown since 1997, and Linda, her kids Quinn (who is still living in SC), Stephanie (who lives out near me in Portsmouth) and Kristin (who lives right up the road from Linda now) and me all decided that we�d all go to Jamestown every 4th of July. This will be our third year.

We have such a blast. Jamestown is a shitty area of NY, but when you�re with rich folks who�ve got clout, it�s pretty nice. Chuck has a cabin in the woods in Ashville, 75 fucking acres of land, and he loves golf so much that he has a 9 hole golf course on the grounds. They have access to Lake Chautauqua, and a house to die for. It�s 35 rooms and was built for Chuck�s family back in 1876. Gorgeous.

Plus me, Quinn, Steph, and Kristin are all party animals. Everybody will be there with spouses/significant others except me, which is fine with me. Quinn and Kristin are married (to other people!) with kids, Steph is not married, no kids (never will either, smart girl) but she and her boyfriend Aaron have been together since Minnie was a baby. I can�t wait. Five days, no responsibilities. Lots and lots of drinky!

Did I mention Rod is going to be out there too? Beavis is going to spend the 4th with him and his family. I have already told Beavis who I want pics of. His evil douchebag grandmother, his aunts and uncle, step-mom, the whole nine. I�m kinda jealous I don�t get to go. Which is sad, right?

I told Beavis the whole story about Rod and my �relationship�, especially the end when we broke up. How Rod had something he needed to talk to me about, but wanted to do it over lunch and yak yak yak. I mean, that was almost fifteen years ago, and I never had any desire to know exactly what it was he wanted to talk to me about. I just assume he wanted to break up with me but was a weasel and couldn�t just do it. Anyway, Beavis is dying to know what it was, and was insisting that I ask him when I see him.

Kid. I said, why don�t you ask him? Because I don�t care. Nor do I have any interest in dredging up the past, especially with Rod. I�m sure he has some residual issues with the whole thing. I�m sure I do, too, but in the end, I don�t ever regret having Beavis. And no matter how fucked up it came about, he�s been a wonderful addition to my life. And I don�t want to feel like I have to apologize for that.

Anyway. I have a busy week ahead. I have to make sure everything is straight before I leave. Never mind that whole �packing� thing. I�m a little worried about leaving Hub alone for five days. I�m sure he�ll live, but you have to understand how utterly dependent he is on me. I have to make sure he has a ton of cash in his bank account so that he can leave the business account alone (he�ll suck it dry, I swear) when it comes to �I need, I need�. Plus food and laundry will need to be done.

And, um, I never heard from Bobby and Cindy�s mom last week. They never showed on Wednesday, nor on Thursday. I know we had talked about me taking the kids at around 9:00 in the morning once school was out, which would have been Thursday, but not having even a phone call, and having to drop off Daisy for 9:00 on Thursday, I just fucking left. Sorry, if I don�t know you�re coming, then I�m not waiting around. I doubt they showed. So, whatever. Obviously, they don�t need me, which is fine. Makes my summer much, much easier.

Watch her call this week.

Anyway, I think I�m done for now. Amazing I can get this much of an entry in, but I did tons of catch up with work yesterday, so I can squeeze in some fuck-off time.

Ciao.


Listening to: The Vines or The Strokes or something.

Currently reading: I will be starting "A Cold Heart" Jonathan Kellerman

Thinking about: I need a vacation!!!!