10 July 2005 | 4:39 p.m.

"I'm picking out a Thermos for you. Not an ordinary Thermos for you. But the extra best Thermos that you can buy, with vinyl and stripes and a cup built right in".

Will I ever get a moment to update? Sheesh. Let�s see how this goes.

I�m still in vacation mode, big time. I�m also not feeling so well today, my stomach is all kinds of blech. But, I�ve managed to start on some laundry, and I took the kids to a city pool in Nashua (not that hot + Sunday afternoon= not too many people there). And I managed to upload a shitload of pics from my trip onto Flickr. So go look.

The trip was wonderful, just what I needed. There�s nothing like having days on end where you do nothing but hang out, drink, eat, and do enjoyable things, like swim at the country club or go for a spontaneous trip up to Niagra Falls. And not have to worry about the business, and not have to deal with neighbor�s kids (or other people�s kids in general) or listen to Hub�s useless excuses.

But, I�m back in the shit again. Oh well.

So, my trip started a little late because Andrea was at work until almost 7 Friday night. The first time she got held up that late at work since I�ve been babysitting for her and it�s been almost a year now. Anyway, we finally got on the road after a long goodbye with Hub.

We were almost out of Massachusetts near the New York border when we got hit with a downpour that was unreal. Like someone had a million gallon bucket of water and just dumped it on us. It busted my windshield wiper, the one on the driver�s side, of course. That sucked. Especially when, shortly thereafter, just after Albany, we hit another downpour. It was getting dark, my windshield wiper was busted and it was fucking pouring. I was freaking out, but being cool about it so the kids wouldn�t freak. Beavis was up in the front with me and quieted right down. We were doing like 40 mph and that was still scary. I finally found an exit to get off at, in Duanesberg, NY, wherever the hell that is, because I just wanted OFF that highway.

Yeah, I was bitching about Route 17 (aka �Future 86�)? Route 88 bites harder. No rest areas and no goddamn 24 hour gas stations! It was another three exits when we found one open, at 11:45 pm, and it turns out, they were closing at midnight. We got gas and drinks and snacks and the rest of the ride was uneventful.

We rode into Jamestown at 4:47 am. And I was tired. So me and the kids didn�t even go up to our rooms, we just passed out in Linda and Chuck�s living room.

The rest of the time was great. I brought two big 32 oz bottles of Jager, that we killed. We smoked a lot of weed. Partying was great.

And Beavis saw Rod. Rod wanted him all day on the 4th, which I think he felt guilty asking for, but I had no problem with it. He picked him up Monday at 8:00 with his sister Corrie, who�d had a baby right after (as in days) I had Beavis. They spent the day at Rod�s mom�s with Corrie and her kids and also his uncle Brian and aunt Autumn and her brand new baby. And various spouses. They went to see the fireworks in Mayville, where his mom lives, and Beavis got home after 11.

When they came in, I was in the bathroom getting a very tired Minnie ready for bed. Beavis came up to get me and said Rod wanted to talk to me. I went down and Rod said he just wanted to make sure I was home and that they�d had a great day. He was absolutely BEAMING about Beavis. Telling me what an awesome kid he is and thanking me�it wasn�t quite what I was expecting but it was nice. Maybe he was shocked that he could have produced such a cool kid?

I haven�t seen him since 1992. It was weird. He looks about the same, older and a little heavier. I don�t know�I�ve been thinking so much about all this. His family was good to Beavis. I was a little worried about Rod�s mom and how she�d treat him, but she was nice. That�s most important. Beavis said, �When we go with Hub�s family, that�s just like meeting people, but when I was with Rod, I knew all these people are, like, related to me�. He definitely resembles them a lot. Especially his uncle Brian, who is ten years younger than me, the last time I saw him he was 11, I think, and DAMN if he didn�t turn out cute.

I had Beavis take pics of everyone. As soon as I get some onto my username on this computer, I�ll post them.

Jamestown always reminds me of when I had Beavis. It�s humbling to me. Living there, having Beavis, it was a very difficult, if not the most difficult time of my life. I was dirt poor and had very little support out there. And Rod was no help. But I did it. I fucking did it. And I guess I never realized back then what a feat that was. Now, looking back, I�m pretty impressed with my 20 year old self.

I drive the same roads that I walked, because back then I had no choice but to walk or take the bus. Now I drive in my mini-van. Although every time I go back, I take at least one walk downtown, just like the old days. It�s a little different when you have a choice, though. I go by all the same places, the courthouse, the welfare office, Beavis�s old daycare, my old school, our old apartment�and it all comes flying back to me. I�ll never forget those days, never. I won�t let myself.

And now I�ve got this boy, this amazingly handsome and charismatic boy who is so quickly becoming a man. He�s by no means perfect and I know I bitch about him a lot, but overall, I think the world is a much better place with him in it. For me, anyway. And I owe some thanks to Rod for that, for if he hadn�t knocked me up that early Sunday morning in September of 1990, I wouldn�t have one of the most wonderful people in my life today.

As a matter of fact, I drove into Sinclairville, NY, which is where I was living briefly when I got pregnant, and showed Beavis the house in which he was conceived. He took a picture of it. He�s my kid, that�s for sure.

He�s so funny. Out there, they have towns and �villages�. Like, Sinclairville is a village. Beavis took this to mean Indian village, and kept yelling, �WHO�S YOUR CHIEF?!?� every time we drove into a village. It has become our latest catch phrase.

Anyway, I�ve got to get off this computer and fold some laundry. I have more to update, I know there�s shit about my trip that I want to share but kinda dwelled a bit too much on the Rod and Beavis thing. Oh, and how funny is it? That both Rod and I went to Jamestown spouse-less this year? I mean, what are the chances? It was just�odd, I suppose.

And I got tagged for the �5 things that are pissing me off� meme thingie, so I have to work on that too. I know of three right off the top of my head. Starting with that fucking president of our�s. By our�s I mean the country because he is not MY president. Goddammit.

Anyway yeah so ciao and shit.


Listening to: "Mr Brightside" The Killers

Currently reading: "My Life" Bill Clinton

Thinking about: hitting that toilet and fixing my belly woes!!!