25 April 2004 | 7:51 a.m.

An Evening with Elton John and His Band

Hub and I went to see Elton John Friday night and had a blast. He put on a great show and played almost all of my favorite songs. Fun, fun, fun!

We had floor seats, which I was excited about. Sure, the view isn't as great, but I'd never been on the floor for any show before and wanted to. ANd maybe i mentioned it before, but we paid roughly $100 for each ticket. That's not chump change to a poor girl like me. So, we got to the show, got ourselves some beer, and took a seat. He came on about 3 minutes after we sat down, so I was pretty excited about that. He opened with "The Bitch is Back". Some people two rows in front of me stayed standing, blocking my view. Now rather than just sit there and not see, I stood up. Because for $100 a ticket, I'm going to SEE EJ, period. The third song he played was "Bennie and the Jets" which is like my favorite EJ song, so I was still standing up, boogie-ing away, when this old fuck behind me pokes me in the back and not lightly, either. I looked back and he demands me to sit down. Excuse me, old fuck? I told him, I can't see if I'm sitting down, and I paid big bucks and I'm going to see, dammit. By the way, put your fucking hands on me one more time and I'll have security over here in a heartbeat, that is if Hub doesn't have a little "chat" with you first. ANYWAY, that ruined my favorite EJ song for a minute, but I stayed standing up until the people in front of me sat down. The old fuck bitched that the music was too loud. Then he fell asleep for a few minutes before leaving, not even 30 minutes into the show. I think the old fuck had never been to a concert before, no? Anyway, he left and the people sitting next to him made comment to me that I scared him off, jokingly, but no one was sad to see him go.

One awesome song after another, I sang every word to almost every song. He can still put on a great show. EJ was my first concert back in 1986 when I was just about 16 years old. I was supposed to go see him in 89 too, but he cancelled the show due to vocal problems. I'll go see him again, even when he's 80, I don't care.

I can't believe I remembered to bring a lighter, I guess that's become like an old 80's thing or something, because not too many people had them, however, a few people held up their cell phones with the lights on! HA!

The thing I hate the most about events like that is that I get all worked up about it, the event happens, and then it's over. And what do you have besides memories of it, ya know? I'm glad I went but now it's over and I'm bummed out.

Well, I have a 3 year old who's going to have an aneurism if I don't let him go to NickJr.com (too lazy to make the link, not even with a cheat sheet this time).

TTFN!!!

Listening to:

Currently reading:

Thinking about: