12 March 2005 | 1:10 p.m.

I heart candles.


This entry was inspired by trulypoetic .

I love candles. I have had an obsession with them for years. I think I�ve mentioned it before, maybe once or twice. I also love incense, and not only to cover up the smell of pot, although that is it�s main function most of the time around here. (And I�ve been checking out that �Scent Stories� thing, you know, the smell CD player? It interests me because I love stuff that makes my house smell purty. But then again it seems kind of silly too. How long can those things last? Does anyone have one? Love some feedback on that. Fortunately, I cannot bear to spend the whopping $30 or whatever on it without knowing if it�s worth it. That and I really do prefer candles and incense to freshen the air in my home. No spray, although I did buy some of the febreeze air freshener and that�s not anywhere near as offensive as all the other sprays out there).

Oh, yeah, I talk a big talk but I am in actuality very domestic. Domestic goddess, just like Roseanne. (Hee hee, when I was heavy I always thought of me and Hub as Dan and Roseanne. Or maybe Tom and Roseanne. Whatever. I always thought Dan was really sexy for a big guy. I still do. Or should I say John Goodman)

Enough rambling already. Let�s get on with it. These are the candles that I currently have out in my home.

This one is on the stove. It�s a Yankee Candle, �Tangerine Peach�. Butthead�s girlfriend got it for me for Christmas. Isn�t she sweet? It smells great. I love fruity smelling candles.

= 0>

This is the other one I have in the kitchen. It�s just a cheapie Wally World jar (black cherry) that Hub picked up, but doesn�t that shade really dress it up? That�s from Home Interi0rs. They do a fundraiser at Beavis�s school every year and that�s how I got it. And that�s The Giggle Sisters in that pic, acting silly on Christmas. I had to put it in a frame, and I found that one at Wally World for like two bucks, and it�s the perfect fit.

= 0>

This is the computer desk. That�s my favorite Buddha, too. I got the mala beads when a group of Buddhist monks came through town in late 2003. They were the coolest shit ever. But anyway, I rarely light the pillars (cucumber melon, from WW), they�re just there to look pretty. The votives are P@rtylites, a new scent, �Guava and Papaya�. I�m working on the picture situation behind it (which if you look close, at the top, you can catch a glimpse of a pic of Mickey right after his surgery. Yes, I have a pic of that on my walls. The little boy next to him is Beavis on his first day of kindergarten. The old man is Hub�s grandpa, shortly before he died, and he�s holding Butthead).

border = 0>

This is my three wick pillar. Another P@rtylite, Lemongrass scent. I got the holder at Christmas Tree Sh0ps for a buck. This is a candle that sells for $37.95, which is way too expensive for a candle IMO. But I had a party and got it cheap. Another Buddha, too. The tiger pics were Hub�s before we got together and they fit in with the whole theme of the living room. I like them. Expensive shite from H0me Interiors. I removed the plant I have sitting there for the pic because it�s dying and I have yet to replace it. Oh yeah and an infamous incense burner.

0>

This is the top of the entertainment center. My P@rtylite �Iced Crystal Trio�. And the votives are P@rtylite�s �Spiced Vanilla�. More Buddhas. I�ve had that plant for 4 years now. I like when they don�t die. Nice pic, huh? Drink much, Dukkha?

I love, love, LOVE this pillar holder. Doesn�t it rock? I got it from H0me and Garden Party. They have some cool shit and it�s not too expensive. The pillar inside is another P@rtylite, �Fig and Lychee�.

This next one is another cheapie. Hub picked it up at Building 19. I had this same candle like a year ago that I paid full price for. It�s Candle-lite, �Mountain View�. It smells great. Yeah, ANOTHER Buddha and more plants.

0>

And, to further prove that I am obsessed with fucking candles, here is my collection. Candles and candle holders galore. Votives, jars, pillars, floaties, tealights, tart warmers, you name it, I've got it. It�s in a tight space and wasn�t easy to take a pic, so I took two views. In the instance that we become dirt poor again and I won�t have money to blow on candles, I�d say this collection could last a good 6 months to a year.

0>

0>

There�s Dukkha�s domestic entry for the day. If you read the whole thing and got into it then you are just as fucking domestic as me, so just admit it!!! =)

I feel rather like crap this morning. I cut down on drinking in the past few weeks, so last night when I had a few pops I found that my tolerance has shit the bed. Since when does 8 beers give me a hangover that lasts until after noon? WTF? Another reason to cut down more.

And it�s snowing like a bastard out there. Tomorrow, we sled!

And Monday and Tuesday is Mickey�s rescheduled MRI appointments in Boston. But I�ll have plenty of time to go into that tomorrow and Monday AM.

Adios, amigas y amigos!

Listening to: "Popular". I can't remember the band. But ya know who's cool? Queens of the Stone Age. Good band.

Currently reading: "The Empty Chair", Jeffery Deaver

Thinking about: Fucking hangovers. FUCK!