05 August 2005 | 1:59 p.m.

"Oh, here it is. Bratislava. Hmm. Capital of Slovakia. Oh, here's a fun fact: You made out with your sister, man! "

First of all. I have discovered the evil that is downloading tunes on the internet and have become extremely addicted. (I know, I�m slow! I�m just now joining the 90�s, and they�ve been over for five years). I decided to sign up for a legit music service for the boys, since I banned them from downloading whatever from wherever. Butthead said Napster was good, so I signed up for a free 7 day trial. Yeah. For $14.95 a month, you can listen to all you want. Yey! But if you want to put something on CD or MP3 player? You have to pay. WTF? Why am I paying $14.95 a month, then? If anyone knows of any better places to go, clue me in. I�ve got 5 more free days before I commit to Napster.

Anyway. How novel. Instead of going to the store and buying various CD�s, you go right on the computer and just pick the tunes you want. Who�d a thunk it? It�s like buying 45�s, only you don�t have to change the record every time a song ends. Or tape it. (Am I dating myself or what? Remember recording songs on the radio? I did it so much, and listened to those tapes so much, that when I�d hear the songs, I�d be expecting it to end with whatever stupid thing the DJ said on my recorded version).

Oh. And that was stealing, btw. But, it�s been 22, 23 years and I think I�m safe due to the statute of limitations.

I made a CD of some new and old favorites: The Pumpkins: �Zero�, �Cherub Rock� & �Drown�, The White Stripes (my new favorite band): �My Doorbell�, �Seven Nation Army� & �Fell In Love With a Girl� ( Minnie�s new fave song), Hot Hot Heat: �Bandages�, Sublime: �Santeria�, Foo Fighters, �Monkey Wrench� and The Killers: �Mr. Brightside�. That�s juts my CD. Never mind what I put on my play list. We�d be here all day.

Do you think Dave Grohl ever thinks that �Foo Fighters� is a silly name? I mean, ten years later, does he think, �Why the hell did we pick that name?�. He was in a band called Nirvana, after all. That was a cool name. Foo Fighters? Not so cool. I would bear children for him anyway.

Anyway. So what�s new in my world? Well, one of my cousin�s is getting married tonight, so we�re off to a wedding. The first one in my family since 1994. You can�t count mine cuz I got married at city hall. Oh well. I�m going to see family members that I haven�t seen since my grandmother�s funeral in early 2003. So that ought to be interesting.

Unfortunately, my family is pretty laid back and low key, so there won�t be any drunken fights breaking out or anything. That�s Hub�s family. And my cousin�s wife-to-be�s family is not attending, they live in Newfoundland (which is�where?!? Canada?) and I guess don�t have anything to do with her. But I�ll bet that�s a family that�ll get some fights going. A wedding just isn�t a wedding without strife and controversy. IMO.

We asked Butthead to baby-sit and I�m not crazy about that. I�m fairly convinced at this point in time that he is just plain old dumb as a stump. I asked him to babysit two months ago when we got the invites, and have reminded him every week since. When I re-reminded him the other day, he�d made plans to go up to his grandfather�s camp. He even wanted to leave tonight after we come home. Hi. Moron? The wedding is at 6:30. We won�t be back until midnight-ish. Leave in the morning. Duh.

In other news, I�ll be having some more new neighbors soon. My crush isn�t moving, very fortunately. But the Brazilian�s in the house next to our�s have moved. So, I told Nina about the vacancy, seeing as they live on a �tree street� in Nashua (note: tree street= crappy neighborhood) and have wanted to move out this way forever. Since our landlord owns that building too, we hooked them up and he gave them the place. At first I was iffy about it, but I think it�ll be good. If not extremely interesting. Nina is a piece of work. But, my nephew will live right next door, which rules. And his little bro is just months older than Mickey and they get along great, so Mickey will finally have a boy his own age to chill with! I think I am most excited about that. That and the fact that Nina is home all day, I like her and I�ll have someone to talk to during the day. And drink with (well, eventually, she�s pregnant right now with #4. I know! #4! She just turned 26, too). I�ve been wanting a friend in the neighborhood, and I�m glad I�ve got one that I already know.

And they�re close, but not too close. A wooded area stands between our houses which is an excellent buffer.

I�ve been doing well back on the Weight Watchers bandwagon. I was up another 4 pounds at weigh-in, bringing me 10 pounds over goal. Not as bad as I thought. And I�ve been here before, in January or February I was 11 pounds over goal and I lost it. I shall again. I�m not doing Core, but I�ve been eating as many foods from the Core plan as I can. Fruits, veggies, lean meats, shit like that. And no white bread, no white rice, no nothing like that! Whole wheat, baby.

But really? Someone needs to invent calorie free alcohol. Now.

Anyway. I not only am updating this, but I uploaded some more pics on Flickr, too. Go look.

And I�m out, yo!

Listening to: No clue. None at all.

Currently reading: "My Life" Bill Clinton. The book that lasted all summer long.

Thinking about: Getting me some sugar free Red Bull to wake the fuck up!