17 August 2005 | 10:08 a.m.

Dirty Pop


I can�t believe I wrote that whole update the other night and not once did I mention the utterly devastating mishap of Friday evening. By utterly devastating, I mean a huge-mungous disappointment like I�ve never had.

And I didn�t even write about it. Wow that.

My camera broke. I haven�t been the same since.

I was wandering around the yard, taking pics of this and that, and I dropped it. Fucked up the screen but good. Now, I can take pictures. I have to look through the little peep-hole thingie instead of at the screen. Well, I�m not a big fan of that. I can upload the pics onto the computer, no problem. I just can�t fucking erase them unless I take the memory card out and do it from the computer. Yey. I also cannot change modes (ie; into macro mode which is by far my favorite), because the fucking display is broken!

It sucks and has taken all my interest out of picture taking right now. I haven�t decided whether or not to get it fixed or get a new one. Funny, too, I�ve been looking into my dream camera set-up lately and then I started thinking I should just learn all about mine for now and get a nice set up sometime in the future. Then BAM. My camera breaks.

Of course, this comes at a time when we are a bit strapped for cash, with fucking school shopping looming and all. It sucks.

Anyway. Onto the excitement in the pathetic waste that is known as my life.

I made a new CD last night. Damn Napster, with it�s millions of songs. This one is 20 songs long (it would have been 24 songs but OOPS, the CD wasn�t long enough for that many so I had to cut it down) of all one particular genre of music which yet again proves that I have a genuinely diverse and completely retarded taste in music.

The title of my CD is �Pop 1998-2002�. It contains all kinds of totally cheesy pop songs from that time period. Although, some might not exactly qualify as cheesy pop, and one song is from 2004, while I think I may have a 1997 classic in there too.

But shit, yo, I am extremely pumped about this CD. I was thinking the other day how I never hear my old Nsync or Backstreet Boys favorites ever unless I�m at the grocery store. And Napster flashed into my head. And then last night, I had to change the station from FNX to Mike �We Play Everything� because FNX�s reception was fucked, and Mike played Britney �Baby One More Time� and I sat right down at the computer and went B-A-N-A-N-A-S. Butthead came up from his hole a few times, you know, Mr. Heavy Metal, and said stuff like, �Is that Nsync?!?� and �What the heck? B2K?!?!�.

I cannot wait to get into the van (my favorite place to listen to music) with this CD and crank it way up. Minnie�s excited, too, she loves about 98% of the songs on it.

Here�s a brief rundown:

It starts off with my favorite cheesy pop boy band of all time, Nsync and my favorite cheesy pop song of all time, �Bye Bye Bye�. Maybe I�ve mentioned it before, but this song actually has meaning to me. Pathetic, I know, but moreso pathetic when you consider that I was right around the corner from 30 when the song came out. Anyway, it came out right at the time I broke up with Dick, so I totally related to it, and it reminds of finally being free of his jealousy and controlling ways. Plus it�s so damn catchy.

Other Nync songs featured on my CD: �Girlfriend� (albeit, not the version with Nelly which is a bummer), �Pop� and �It�s Gonna Be Me�. Now that last song came out when Hub and I were getting together, so it always reminds me of him.

Next, Backstreet Boys. I haven�t even heard their new shit, but I can only assume that it isn�t anything like their classics of the late 90�s/early 2000�s. �I Want it That way�, �Quit Playing Games� (oh do I love that song!), �As Long As You Love Me� and �Shape Of my Heart�. Now, that last one means something too. It came out right at the time Mickey had his heart surgery, and it was about a heart, so it always make me think of that time. Plus, one of the Backstreet Boys was born with a heart defect (a ventricular septal defect, aka �hole in the heart�) and had had surgery in the years prior to Mickey�s.

Two songs by Christina Aguilera, �Come On Over� and �Genie In a Bottle�. I am regretting my decision not too add �What a Girl Wants�. But I�ll live. I think.

Of course, Britney. �Baby One More Time�, �Crazy� and �I�m a slave�. Fuck, I just realized I skipped over �Oops I did it again� when I made the CD. WTF? The girls are going to be disappointed, they love that song.

The it�s just a mish-mash of various artists.

Toni Braxton, �He Wasn�t Man Enough� (another that reminds me of the time when Mickey had surgery), Pink �Get This Party Started� (A fave of Minnie�s), B2K �Uh-Huh� (I love that song!), Usher �Yeah�, Eminem �The Real Slim Shady� and �Without Me� and finally, Kylie Minogue �Love At First sight�.

I�m bummed out at no �What A Girl Wants� or �Oops�. I�d have dumped Usher and Pink for those two tunes. Dammit.

The CD player in the kitchen won�t play this CD, though. What up wit dat? It�ll play other ones. Oh well, as long as the van plays it, I�m cool.

Anyway. It happens to be gorgeous outside right now, so I�m going to post, catch up on a few diaries and go outside for a bit with the kiddos before lunch.

Sayonara!

Listening to: "Uh-Huh" B2K

Currently reading: "Ashes to Ashes" Tami Hoag.

Thinking about: The usual. Nothing. =)