15 August 2005 | 6:51 p.m.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY MICKEY!!!!

I AM STILL ALIVE. I just haven�t had much time and/or privacy to sit down and write.

I have come to the conclusion that it is definitely THAT TIME of the summer. Other parents know THAT TIME, the time when children are overdue to go back to fucking school, already!!! When you just can�t stand the little bastards for one more second and seriously consider just killing them already.

I�ve known this for a few weeks but never was it more evident than Friday when I took Beavis out for the first attempt at a round of school shopping. Have I ever mentioned how much I hate the evil that is school shopping? Because I do.

Beavis said that he wanted to go to Bob�s Stores for his sweatshirts and t-shirts. No problem. Even though I think they�re a little pricey for a store that�s supposedly not supposed to be, whatever. Well, Friday I get Colin and Makayla at noon, so we headed out early so we�d have plenty of time to shop. It was like 9:30. Except I found out, when we got to Bob�s, that they don�t open until 10:30. Fuckers. Guess what, Bob�s, since ya like to sleep so damn late, you just missed out on my $200.

So, it was off to Kohl�s. Now, remember, I had Minnie and Mickey AND Daisy with me. Having Daisy along in a store is like giving my kids Pixie Stix, Iced Coffee and a few Red Bulls, they get hyped up to the max. I hate it. Anyway, they had all these great deals, I couldn�t believe it. We were there for a half an hour and all Beavis could find was one fuckin t-shirt. Jeans were on sale for freakin� $25, could he have gotten some of them? No.

He is such a bitch when it comes to shopping. He�s worse than a girl. It is so aggravating. It�s like he wants me to shop FOR him. I could do that by myself, not with his annoying ass. Or the three little ones. I kept pointing things out, but nothing was cool enough. He was walking in circles and making me nuts.

Anyway, he didn�t get anything. The trip ended with me muttering �Fuck you� to him and walking out of the store, to the car and a tearful call to Hub on my cell. Beavis came out about 15 minutes later.

IT IS TIME FOR SCHOOL TO START AGAIN. Two more weeks, two more weeks, two more weeks. ..

Anyway, by Friday night I was at my wit�s end with kids. We�d had Daisy for the week, Hilda for a time, plus Shawn slept over, then there�s Colin and Makayla, and various neighbors� kids. And remember, I�m ready for school to start. So I was looking forward to Saturday with just my kids. If I had any kind of reliable babysitter, it�d have been Saturday with no kids whatsoever, but just mine is the next best thing.

And if you knew me personally and spoke to me on Friday, you�d have known I was so looking forward to the break. I was so looking forward to it.

So. Hub came home from work relatively early Saturday afternoon. I had taken the kids to Robinson Pond and had a blast with them, I spent most of the time in the water with them, throwing them around and acting like a total ass and it was so fun. I came home, showered (ugh, I don�t mind swimming in a pond but the second I get home I�m in the shower to wash off all those germs) and was hanging out in the back yard with them looking for little creatures and stuff.

Hub got on the phone with Nina cuz he was all jonesing out for some weed and we were out and no one else could hook up. Well, she could trade off some weed if we could watch the kids for a while (which, Nina�s �little whiles� are hours upon hours) so she and Jay could go out to dinner. We are talking about my nephew, who is 7, his brother, who is 5 and their daughter, who is 15 months old. So what does Hub say to her? �I have to check with Jackie�. And he asked me.

I was so pissed. Like, do you ever fucking listen to a thing I say, ever? I wanted to have ONE, one stinking �other kid free� day. I couldn�t stop talking about it Friday. And he wants to take on three other kids? WTF? I told him, feel free to go over there and baby-sit, but I�m not having any part of it. Sorry, I can deal with having no weed way better than babysitting a bunch of kids. Especially a fucking one year old. Don�t eat that, don�t go up the stairs, waa waa waa, the baby needs a diaper change, now she�s knocking over my plant, don�t touch that�.yadda yadda yadda, this is all I do all week with Colin (although he is relatively well-trained around here since I�ve been watching him for a year now) and I RELISH my weekends without him, thank you very much.

Well, he was all pissed at me and I know it was because he wanted some weed. Oh fucking well. I was pissed because it was further proof that he doesn�t listen to me nor does he give a fuck how I feel half the time. He got pissed and was like, �I�m outta here� and I just said, �See ya!�. He used to use that on his ex-wives and they�d be all, �Don�t leave!� and I think that�s the reaction he wants from me, but I�m so used to him being gone, who cares? Fucking leave. Of course, he came right back. Much to my dismay.

Anyway. We didn�t talk at all after that and it was just as well. Well, then Sunday was Mickey�s birthday party. It was supposed to be just a little thing, my dad, Linda from NY, the kids and my nephew and his bro. That�s what I bought food for. Hub goes and invites his sister Lily last minute. Which is fine, except that Lily doesn�t come alone. She comes with her husband, her two foster kids, her son, his two friends, and her daughter and her boyfriend. And I had bought food not planning on nine extra people. So I sent his ass out for more food.

All in all, it was a nice little party. Mickey was so happy, it was his big day. He got tons of presents and had fun. The rain held out until right after everyone ate, much to my relief. We had to do cake and shit inside, but by then Lily and Co. left so my house wasn�t too overcrowded.

I�m glad it�s over, though.

Today is Mickey�s birthday. I can�t believe he�s five now. It seems like just yesterday he was born. And it seems like just yesterday he was diagnosed with a heart defect and had surgery and it�s been five years now. Five is a milestone birthday with heart kids, too. If he�d hadn�t had surgery, he wouldn�t have made it much past one. It definitely was one of the hardest things I�ve ever been through with my kids, probably the hardest. But he�s done so well, it�s incredible. I really thought, in those early days after his diagnosis, that �heart defect� meant �death sentence�. I�m so glad it doesn�t.

I�m so glad I have the little bugger in my life, I thank God for him everyday. I do believe he was sent to me as a gift. I never wanted a third kid, ever. I always had a superstition about �the third kid�, thinking that it�s the demon child. And much less did I want another boy. When I had my ultrasound with him, they saw that he was a boy and they asked if I wanted to know the sex, I said yes and when they said he was a boy, I rolled my eyes and sighed, like �What the fuck?�. Beavis had been so much work and Minnie had been such an easy baby, I wanted another girl. Besides, I had all kinds of girl clothes.

I mean, all that and never mind that it was not a good time to have a kid at all, with Dick and I being broken up and me not wanting anything to do with him ever again, never mind having another one of his kids. But when the little shit was born, I fell in love with him. He was so cute, despite being so Mini-Dick. He looked like Dick, he had Dick�s feet and Dick�s �package� (yes, I could tell even at one day old). And then the heart stuff�I was so scared and so sad, but I took care of him and did a damn good job of it. Of course I�ve spoiled the fuck out of him, but he deserves it. He is 100% mama�s boy, too. We joke that he�ll be in his 50�s and still saying, �I want mamma�. And that�s okay with me.

So, today, it rained, and Colin and Makayla�s dad stayed home with them, so I got the day off. WHOO! Linda came over and we took the kids to the movies. We saw �Sky High� which was about the only kids movie that we could agree on. And it was alright, I liked it.

Two things I noticed in the movie, fashion related. First, Layla in the movie wears a skirt over a pair of jeans. ???? It looked hideous. I saw that once on Flickr and thought for sure that person was cooked, but here it was in a movie. A skirt over jeans. Ridic. Has anyone else seen this, and, um, WTF? And I finally saw, for the first time, manpris. Capris for boys! UGH-ness! The hero of the flick wore them with Chuckie T�s, no less. Oh good gracious. I am getting old.

Okay, lengthy much?

I love Hot Hot Heat. And Kings of Leon. And The White Stripes. My three new favorite bands. Oh and the new NIN song, �Only� is like the best thing he�s ever put out, with the exception of �Closer�, of course.

Discuss amongst yourselves. I�m out, yo!!!


Listening to: "Middle of Nowhere" Hot Hot Heat.

Currently reading: "Ashes to Ashes" Tami Hoag. I loves me some Bill Clinton, but reading his book is too much like thinking.

Thinking about: I hate birthdays and other gift-giving occasions. My house is a mess of new toys and boxes. Yey.