25 August 2005 | 6:22 p.m.

�Don�t smoke MY weed�

I�m telling you what. Diaryland is really beginning to irritate the shit out of me. I just spent, oh, I don�t know, half a fucking hour updating my cast page and it�s not showing. WTF? I don�t think I�m going to renew super gold when it�s time in November. I�m fucking moving. I think. It�s just so annoying. I keep checking the cast page, and it still looks the same. Can you guys look at it? If the names are in bold, then it took.

Guess what I�m listening to? �Rock Me� Great White. I know, the RI nightclub fire and all, but this is still this is a good tune. I got a ton of randomness just now on Napster, this tune (which was a Sony Walkman favorite of mine in 1988), �Baby Got Back�, �She Blinded Me With Science� (OMG I have always always always loved this song), �SemiCharmed Life� (another always always always favorite song), �Unbelievable� and �(I just) Died in Your Arms�. I tried to get �Santa Monica� by Everclear (another random forever favorite) but you have to buy it just to put it on the play list. WTF, Alex? Are you guys that hurting? That just pisses me off, therefore, I will deny you my $.99. For now.

Anyway. To go back to what I was talking about a paragraph ago, my Cast Page. I was updating mainly due to the fact that I haven�t done so in some months, and also due to Nina and Jay moving in next door next week. I am expecting them to get a lot of coverage in my diary once they do. I wanted today�s entry to be some more backround on Nina since we do have a somewhat interesting history together.

I think I�ve covered the fact that my brother Ned is a big fat loser. I hate even writing that about him to people who don�t know him, but it�s a fact. Well, Ned wasn�t always a loser of the type he is now. No, once upon a time, Ned was just your regular, everyday party-loving underachiever. Ned really was gifted with amazing academic intelligence. This is a guy who read our encyclopedia at home (you know, the volumes and volumes of books about everything?), the whole thing, and remembered everything in it. However, we had some shitty circumstances in our childhood that threw Ned off the path he may have taken had my mother not gotten sick and passed away when we were young.

As a matter McFact, since Mickey turned 5 last week (the age Ned was when my mom was permanently put into a nursing home), I�ve been looking at him as I would have Ned back then. If I was a grown up. And I think, imagine if my mother�s fate fell upon me, Mickey would turn out just like Ned. He reminds me so much of him. Another reason not to die. But I digress.

Again, I need to explain something before I move on.

I grew up in a section of the city of Nashua called Crown Hill. In a house that my grandparents bought in 1947, when my father was just months old. It was a duplex. When my father returned to the US from being stationed in England with the Air Force (his own little way of skipping out of serving in Vietnam) in July of 1970, he brought along my mom, who was seven months pregnant with me (a fact that I guilted my dad over for a long time. The fuck? They should have waited a few more months, I mean like would four or five months really made a fucking difference? I could have had dual citizenships. Again, I digress) and my older brother Gary, who was 8, the son my mom had from a �previous relationship� (not marriage, he was born in 1962, when she was 18! I believe that my mom was a non-conformist like me. Who says I have to be married to start my family?). They lived with my grandparents in the house on Crown Hill until after I was born.

After my mom got sick in 1978, we moved into the other side of my grandparents� duplex in June of 1979. I moved out to Western NY from 1989 until 1992, and when I moved home, I moved in with my dad and Ned in the house on Crown Hill. I stayed there until Dick and I got our place in 1999. My grandmother sold that house in May of 1999. It was easy to live with my dad all those years on account of the fact that my dad worked 3-11, I worked 8-5, and he was gone on weekends. It was like living on my own, we never saw each other.

Anyway, in the 90�s, living there was great. Robert and Rhonda lived right across the street, Cheryl and Lou lived next door to me, another couple Terri and Kevin lived next door to Robert and Rhonda. We all had kids and all liked to party. And we all had friends that came by to hang out. It went on for years and was great, I�d love another situation like that.

Over Robert and Rhonda�s apartment lived a woman named Margaret. Psycho piece of work. Anyway, she got friendly with everyone through the neighborhood. Robert�s best friend growing up was Dave, who had a sister named Pat. Pat met Margaret through Robert and Company, and in late 1995, needed a place to live with her then 15 year old daughter, Nina. So, they moved in with Margaret.

Pat was what I call a �Non-Mom�. Nina, at 15, was old enough not to need constant supervision, so therefore, Pat was done with her job. When Nina started smoking pot at 15, she told Pat. Pat�s reaction? �Don�t smoke MY weed�. NICE. When I met Nina, she was 15 and never went to school. She was just waiting for her 16th birthday (a year away) to officially quit. Pat didn�t give a crap.

Anyway. Once Nina met Ned, she was smitten. Now, at this point in life, when Ned was 22, I might add, he�d never had a girlfriend. He�d been witnessed once kissing a girl in a party at high school, but that was it. He had issues with women, no doubt stemming from my mother and my grandmother. But that doesn�t matter right now. So, when Nina started pursuing Ned, he shrugged her off. �She�s way too young�, he�d say.

Well...Nina hung out with us big kids. We drank, smoked, partied in general. It wasn�t long before Ned and Nina were an item.

Initial reaction: Ned, what the fuck? She�s 15.

However, Nina�s father had never met her, and Pat was hardly going to press charges for statutory rape. So, Ned didn�t have to worry about the legal end of it.

I remember countless hours spend with Smokey discussing �What the fuck is up with Ned and Nina�. Because Nina not only was 15 years old, she was also�um�not your everyday teenage girl.

She was cute. No doubt. Even now after having had three kids, the girl has not one stretch mark and has a perfectly intact belly. Well, not now she�s pregnant, but she still is not showing any stretch marks. She has that kind of body. Not something she got from her mom.

But the girl�s hygiene rivaled a pig. Wash? Wipe my ass? What for? Seriously, I saw her more than once with blood stains on her pants from her period.

One night, we went to this guy Bob�s house. To go to the central hangout room in Bob�s house, we had to climb stairs. Nina was in front of me and I noticed a big blood stain on her pants right then. We all hung out, but Nina sat on the other side of the room from me and I couldn�t discreetly tell her what was up. Not that it was a pressing issue. At this point, she and Ned had been together for like six months, so I�d had six months of watching her stain up at least two or three pairs of pants per period. Anyway, she made a point to say she was going to the bathroom, so I just assumed that she�d, you know, notice she was slacking in the period maintenance department.

No such luck. She gave me shit the next day for not telling her. Hello? I said, �You didn�t notice in the bathroom?�. �No, I was just doing my hair in there!�. Well, number one, it�s not my responsibility to monitor your period, I�m pretty sure that�s your job, but also, we were in a room full of mixed company and you sat way across from me�should I have shouted?

Anyway. Then. Margaret, being a pyscho, and Nina had a big blow out one day. No way was Nina going back to live with that psycho. Not that I could blame her. Margaret was the Psychoest Psycho of all the Pyschos.

For example (again I digress), Christmas 1995. Margaret had two daughters, Liz and Sara. Liz was 13 or so and lived with an aunt. Sara was 9 and lived with Margaret. Christmas morning came, and Margaret, claiming poverty, hadn�t bought Sara anything for Christmas. (It should be mentioned, however, that during the last pay period before Christmas, Margaret had bought her boyfriend, Ron, a Patriots jacket for like $100 or so). Pat was bullshit at this, and told Margaret that if it weren�t for the gift she and Nina had gotten her, she�d have nothing under the tree, and there was no excuse for that, especially seeing Ron�s jacket and all. Margaret responded by getting defensive, saying Christmas sucks and throwing the Christmas tree out the kitchen window. On Christmas morning. I shit you not.

I guess I should cut in here and digress YET AGAIN. I met Dick through Robert and Rhonda a few years later, in 1997. Dick met them through Margaret. Margaret at one time was Dick�s girlfriend. And why THAT relationship didn�t work out is beyond me. (Yeah, I�ve said it here before, my area is one of those �small world� type of areas where there�s not six degrees of separation, but just one or two).

So, anyway, Nina and Margaret had a falling out, and Nina wanted to move in with us. My dad at the time was drinking and smoking pot and partying with us all, so he was laid back and allowed it. I, however, was not so thrilled.

I�m difficult to live with. I have little experience living with other women and must be Queen Of The Castle that I live in. I�m a bitch and I�ll admit it. I like things the way I like them. I�ll admit, living with several slobs now, I�ve eased up a lot, but back then, I was pretty uptight.

It was a disaster. I found Nina�s bras and undies in the couch often. Nina never cleaned up after herself. Once, Smokey came downstairs saying there was a bloody pad floating in the toilet. Nina said, �Are you sure it was a pad and not a tampon?� trying to weasel out of it, and Smokey said, �Dude. I have five sisters. I know the difference between a pad and a tampon and that was a pad�.

Two months later, Ned and Nina found an apartment. Oh, and I forgot to mention what kind of couple Ned and Nina were. The annoying kind. The �We love each other so much we can never be apart and we are SO IN LOVE� kind. Ugh. Think Bennifer.

They had one apartment, and they got thrown out for being too noisy. They moved in with Bob. Sometime while they were living there, things got ugly. Now, for 98% of the time they were together, Ned supported them. When they lived with Bob, Ned lost a job. He was out of work for one week when Nina threw him out for not having a job. After he�d supported her lazy ass for almost a year, she threw him out for being out of work for one week.

I hated her at that point.

And it was at this point that Ned began his downward spiral. The arrests started. He started doing shit that was totally pyscho, like going down to see her with a billy club and having her call the cops and getting him arrested. The talks between Smokey and I should have been recorded.

They got back together. They broke up. Then. Nina was pregnant. And they got back together.

Ned was an excellent daddy to be. They got another place of their own. I was excited for the baby. Jaegan was born November 1, 1997. I helped out a lot. They did well, and at that point, Nina and I were friendlier again.

Jaegan was just months old when things went south again. Ned lost his mind. He drank a lot, missed work, skipped bills. Finally, one weekend, he punched the girl downstairs from them in the face. He was arrested, and Nina never let him back. He went face first into the downward spiral, and was never again the Ned I had known all my life.

By the time Jaegan was 1 or so, Nina had met Jay and has been with him ever since. I�ve seen Nina off and on in the past years, but have just recently reconnected with her this year. She�s come a long way, but is still the same Nina. And because I love my nephew and the idea of him being so close, I hooked them up with the place next door. They move in next weekend.

To be continued as events unfold.

Ciao! =)

Listening to: "(I just) Died in Your arms" Cutting Crew. *sigh* I heart 1987.

Currently reading: "Ashes to Ashes" Tami Hoag.

Thinking about: Folks, I've been drinking, so if shit doesn't make sense, that's my excuse.