12 January 2006 | 9:56 a.m.

"Warning. Assholes are closer than they appear".

"I don't think it's appropriate for me to speak about issues that could realistically come up" . Just so you know, I�m using that line on my next job interview. Because, really, why does anyone need to know Judge Alito�s stance on anything? It�s not like he�ll really have any influence on the country at all, sitting there on the Supreme Court, taking over Justice O�Connor�s swing vote. Sheesh, he�s GW�s pick, how can we argue with it! GW would never do anything to harm this country, he said so. He�s dignified, and who can argue with dignity?

Excuse me while I puke for a second. The bullshit stench has that effect on me.

Anyway. So, I weighed in. And, it wasn�t that bad. I am 17 lbs over goal. A week prior, I believe I�d have been 20-25 lbs over goal, but since I didn�t weigh in, I�ll never know for sure. Anyway, 17 lbs? Your ass is toast. See ya!

There�s this one lady that has been going to Weight Watchers since before I started. Let�s call her �Jean�. Jean hasn�t lost anymore than 7 lbs in the past three years. Jean cannot be convinced that the program can work for her. She�ll piss and moan that �this doesn�t work�, �I can�t give up my Pepsi�, �Even when I follow the program, I don�t lose weight�, �The girls I work with are always ordering out, and I can�t say no�. And so on, and so on. She�d actually stopped going for a while, much to my chagrin, as I�d gotten used to her weekly debate with the group leader. Yeah, well, she was back for more last night. Surprisingly, the group leader, Mary Beth, didn�t even look her way.

I don�t get it. Why keep going and spending all that money if you�re so convinced it won�t work for you? Insurance won�t cover gastric bypass?

OMG, speaking of gastric bypass, am I the only one who thinks Star Jones-Whatever looks worse now than before she lost weight? Her face is just, ew. Maybe that could use a little tightening. I mean, great, you lost 150 lbs, that�s awesome. Even if you cheated (no offense to anyone who�s had the operation, but really, it�s the easy way. A guaranteed way to lose weight. And a whole bunch more). But. You lost the weight way too fast and the elasticity in your skin couldn�t quite keep up. I�m just saying.

The Hubster really needs to stop giving me news reports. I love that he watches the news, I love that he�s keeping informed and wanting to talk about it. However, when he relays the news to me, it comes out all wrong.

I figured this out three to four years ago. For a while, Mass had this governor, Jane Swift. Remember her? She was the lieutenant governor and became governor after the elected governor (Weld, maybe?) left office. She caused some stirrage, like the way she was pumping out babies and using the state helicopter for personal business. Real scandalous stuff.

Anyway, one day, Hub was watching the news, and decides to tell me later, (verbatim, folks): �That mayor lady quit�. It took me fifteen minutes to figure out what the fuck he was talking about. It turns out that Jane Swift had decided not to run for re-election. Why this even fucking mattered to me, I don�t know, as we don�t live in Mass. Also, mayor, governor, what�s the fucking difference, right?
His favorite news item lately is global warming. He told me last night, �Global warming was in the news today�. No shit. It has been for like 25 fucking years, for crying out loud.

A few weeks ago, he saw the newspaper had an article about Mount Washington. He thought it was in danger. He thought the weather up there was changing and therefore, showing signs of global warming. Actually, the article was about a lack of funding for some news snippet on the radio that had been broadcasting from Mt Washington since 1992, that was no longer going to be due to lack of funding.

Last week, he told me that U2 broke up.

I told him that I wouldn�t believe it until I saw it. �Yeah, they broke up, or they�re not going to play anymore, something like that�. I tried researching it online, but found no news of breaking up or a farewell tour or anything. If anyone knows what might have given him this idea, let me know.

The other thing that bugs me about him and the news is when he decides to read the newspaper. Picture it, he�s sitting at the kitchen table, reading the paper (and he says he�s illiterate. My ass), and I�m at the counter, cooking supper, NOT reading the paper. He�ll comment on the news to me, but like this, �Wow, can you believe that?�. Believe what? I�m not reading that article! He does this constantly.

Now, I talk to the paper, just like I talk to the TV. I know, I�m crazy, this is news to you? Hub is not talking to the paper, he�s talking to me. He keeps doing it. Now, I just comment right back. He�ll be commenting on some article about Bush, and just to show him how retarded he�s being, I�ll pretend he�s talking about Dear Abby. �I know, can you believe that people keep giving the child-free lady shit about not having a kid! Like it�s their business�.

I should give him credit, he�s trying. So there you go. Don�t diss Hub. He tries.

Oh I just crack my own ass up sometimes.

Wouldn�t it just figure? The one time I am really counting on child support from Rod, it doesn�t come. The one fucking time, people. Beavis needs a $200 payment towards the DC trip by tomorrow and I was planning on paying it with the child support that was due last week. It�s still not here, and I�m fucking annoyed. Now I have to dig up $200. Fucking great.

That in addition to the $350 I need to scare up by tomorrow so that my car insurance doesn�t get cancelled. Oh, and the $267 for the propane because we just got a shut off notice for that. You think I�d be freaking out by now. Well, shockingly enough, I�m not. It�ll all get taken care of somehow. Maybe I�ll turn tricks or something. I heard there�s a lot of buyers at The Mall.

Anyway, I must get moving along. Happy Thursday!

Buh-bye.


Listening to: "American Idiot" Green Day.

Currently reading:

Thinking about: Dammit they said it's supposed to be warm today but I am frickin' freezin' in here, Mr Bigglesworth.