06 June 2006 | 1:04 p.m.

I'm good enough, I'm smart enough and doggone it, people like me.

People talk about each other behind their backs all the time. At least, the people I know. And if someone finds out you were talking about them behind their back, it's not usually a good thing.

I've struggled with this for a while. Who do you trust? I mean, it's one thing to just talk about someone, another to divulge secrets. This isn't about divulging secrets. It's about talking about people behind their backs.

I do it all the time here, about Nina, about Rhonda, about Hub, etc etc etc.

I know people talk about me. It used to really bother me. I suppose that's because one girlfriend I knew in jr high and high school talked complete and total shit about me back then, I mean total lies. As in, she told everyone she knew in school that I was a major slut while I was still a virgin. Maybe that soured me.

Fortunately, that kind of shit doesn't happen anymore. And even if it did, whatever. I don't care.

But, like Rhonda. She talks shit about everyone. She's your best friend one minute and then you turn around and she throws you under the bus. But, that's Rhonda. I've known her for half my life now, I'm stuck with her. I keep aware.

Caroline and I were talking about what a bitch she was at the club Saturday night. Caroline even called me Sunday night after talking to Rhonda, who was still bitching that I almost got everyone thrown out of the club, which could not have been further from the truth. I say, Whatever, it's Rhonda. BFD. She'll have someone else to bitch about tomorrow.

And then I was thinking about all this nitpicking and gossiping, and how I was telling Rhonda all about Nina and her issues, and DCYF, and the messy house, and etc, etc, etc.

And then this morning I was at Nina's, talking about what a bitch Rhonda was Saturday night.

And now I'm thinking, WTF? I'm still in junior high?

Listening to: "Locomotive Breath" Jethro Tull

Currently reading: Nada

Thinking about: "...his woman and his best friend in bed and having fun..."